[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Farah makes IAAF shortlist

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Mo Farah


03 October 2011

World 5000m champion Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar) has made it to the shortlist of the IAAFs Prestigious 2011 World Athlete of the Year Award.

A total of 10 male and female candidates have been selected by an IAAF panel of 8 athletics experts. An email poll involving the World Athletics Family has begun and closes on Sunday 23 October.

At the conclusion of the voting process, three male and three female finalists will be selected and announced by the IAAF, with the winners announced live, on stage, during the 2011 World Athletics Gala, on 12 November 2011.

The complete list of candidates is:

In alphabetical order


Yohan Blake                            Jamaica

Usain Bolt                                Jamaica

Mo Farah                                 Great Britain

Robert Harting                         Germany

Kirani James                           Grenada

Patrick Makau                         Kenya

Koji Murofushi                         Japan

David Rudisha                         Kenya

Christian Taylor                       USA

Jesse Williams                        USA


Maria Abakumova                   Russia

Valerie Adams                         New Zealand

Veronica Campbell Brown      Jamaica

Tatyana Chernova                  Russia

Vivian Cheruiyot                      Kenya

Anna Chicherova                    Russia

Lashinda Demus                     USA

Carmelita Jeter                        USA

Amantle Montsho                    Botswana

Sally Pearson                          Australia

The email voters will be: IAAF & IAF Council Members; IAAF Member Federations; IAAF Committee & Commission Members; IAAF Meeting Directors; IAAF Ambassadors; Athletes’ Representatives; Top Athletes; Members of the International Press; IAAF Staff Members.