[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

European Championship team

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Mo Farah


18 June 2012

UKA have today announced a squad of 109 athletes from which the Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland Team will be finally selected to compete in Helsinki, Finland at the European Athletics Championships.

The squad will be reduced in size following this weekend’s Aviva 2012 Trials, at which point, any track athletes already having gained automatic qualification for Team GB will be de-selected in order to focus on their preparations for the Olympic Games.

Field event athletes however, will be permitted to compete in Helsinki should the additional competition opportunity benefit their overall build up.

This year’s European Championships marks the first ever event to take place during an Olympic year, following the decision by European Athletics to take the competition into a biennial cycle from 2012 onwards. The final Aviva GB & NI team for the event, which takes place Wednesday 27 June – Sunday 1 July, will be confirmed on the morning of Monday 25 June – after the conclusion of the Aviva 2012 Trials.

Aviva GB & NI Team squad:


100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey; Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu, Richard Kilty, Mark Lewis-Francis

200m: James Alaka; Chris Clarke, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot

400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer, Gareth Warburton

1500m: Andy Baddeley, James Brewer, Tom Lancashire, Ross Murray, James Shane

5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose, Nick McCormick

10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh

3000m SC: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, Stuart Stokes, James Wilkinson

110m H: Richard Alleyne, Lawrence Clarke, Gianni Frankis, Andrew Pozzi, William Sharman

400m H: Jack Green, Ben Sumner, Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates

High Jump: Martyn Bernard, Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons

Pole Vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe

Long Jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson

Triple Jump: Larry Achike

Shot Put: Carl Myerscough

Discus Throw: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough, Lawrence Okoye

Hammer Throw: Mark Dry

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Kilty, Tyrone Edgar, Ellington, Malcolm, Talbot

4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Levine, Tobin, Williams



100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora, Abi Oyepitan

200m: Onuora, Oyepitan, Jodie Williams

400m: Shana Cox, Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Marilyn Okoro, Nicola Sanders

800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Okoro, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson

1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Jemma Simpson, Charlene Thomas, Steph Twell, Laura Weightman

5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Twell

10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel, Sarah Waldron

3000m SC: Hatti Archer, Eilish McColgan

100m H: Tiffany Porter

400m H: Meghan Beesley

High Jump: Isobel Pooley

Pole Vault: Kate Dennison, Sally Peake

Long Jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor

Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama

Shot Put: Eden Francis

Discus Throw: Francis, Jade Nicholls

Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt

Javelin Throw: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham

Heptathlon: Louise Hazel

4x100m: Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Onuora, Williams

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders