[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Nominations announced for 2012 European Athlete of the Year

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
London 2012 Olympic games

12 September 2012

UKA is delighted to announce that four British athletes have been nominated for 2012 European Athlete of the Year and four Brits for the 2012 European Athletics Rising Star.

The online poll, to determine the winners is now open, with voting taking place on the European Athletics website until 26 September 2012.

Nominations for 2012 European Male Athlete of the Year includes Double Olympic Champion and European 5,000m Champion Mo Farah, European High Jump Champion and Olympic Bronze medallist Robbie Grabarz and Olympic Long Jump Champion Greg Rutherford.

Nominated for 2012 European Female Athlete of the Year is Olympic Heptathlon Champion Jessica Ennis.

Included in the 2012 European Athletics Rising Star nominations are World Junior 100m Champion Adam Gemili and Olympic discus finalist and national record holder Lawrence Okoye.

And in the female 2012 European Athletics Rising Star nominations are European Cross Country Champion and World Junior bronze medallist in the 3000m Emelia Gorecka, plus World Junior Long Jump and Olympian Katarina Johnson-Thompson.

The award winners will be decided by votes from the general public, media, European Athletics Member Federations and an expert panel, with the results from each group of voters counting for one quarter of the athlete's final score. Each voter must select their five preferred athletes and rank them in order of priority.

Members of the public who have voted for the top three male and female athletes in the correct order in the poll will be entered into a draw to win a two-night trip for two to the Göteborg 2013 European Athletics Indoor Championships. There will also be some runners-up prizes.

Please click on the link below to cast your vote.