[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

malcolm and sayers elected to boa athletes' commission

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Christian Malcolm London 2012

04 January 2013

Christian Malcolm will serve a four year term on the BOA Athletes’ Commission after being elected from a group of 21 candidates voted for by gold and silver BOA Passport Scheme holders and Olympians who have competed at a summer or winter Games since Sydney 2000.Goldie Sayers will also stay on the Commission for a further two years until December 2014 after there were votes for six of the previous 12 members to remain on the group.

The Commission is a 14 person advisory group first formed in July 2010 to ensure that the athletes' viewpoint and interests are at the heart of everything the BOA does. The members are made up of a mixture of past and present summer and winter Olympians and the group meets every two months.

Malcolm, a three-time Olympian, will be joined by Olympic rowing gold medallist Katherine Grainger, hockey bronze medallist Kate Walsh, former-rower James Cracknell, former-modern pentathlete Heather Fell and Athens 2004 diving silver medallist Leon Taylor. The former European and Commonwealth 200m silver medallist is looking forward to playing a part in way that the BOA is shaped moving forward.

“It’s an honour to be a part of the BOA Athletes' Commission and I believe that we have a fantastic opportunity to help shape the way that the BOA looks following the most amazing year of Sport Great Britain has ever seen. I’m excited about meeting with the other members of the Commission and helping to make a positive difference to something that I am very passionate about, which includes ensuring that the interest of the athletes remains at the forefront of the organisations aims and objectives.”

Sayers, who competed in the javelin at her third Olympic Games in London last summer, remains on the panel along with Ben Hawes (hockey), Henry Nwume (bobsleigh), Jackie Lockhart (curling), Karen Pickering (swimming) and Sarah Gosling (sailing).

The British record holder is excited by the opportunity to continue being involved with the Commission.

“I’m delighted to be able to remain a part of the BOA Athletes’ Commission. Some great work has been done already and I am excited about being able to continue playing a part in shaping the way the BOA operates. With the addition of the new members to the Commission we are in a great position to make a positive impact moving forward for the next four years."

Andy Hunt, Chief Executive of the BOA, believes that the Athletes’ Commission is an important resource for the BOA moving forward.

“We are delighted to welcome the four new members to the BOA Athletes’ Commission, and to welcome back Katherine Grainger and Leon Taylor for their second term of service.  The Commission is an invaluable resource for the BOA, and the expertise and perspective of its members has helped shape the design and delivery of many of the services we provide to support Team GB athletes.  The BOA is a much more effective, performance-focused organisation because of the Athletes’ Commission, and we look forward to the contributions the new members will make.”

Chair of the Commission Sarah Winkless, who won Olympic rowing gold as well as two world titles, is similarly enthusiastic about what the group can offer.

“The London Games have given us great memories and I was proud of the contribution the Athletes’ Commission made in preparation for the 2012 Games; however, I stood for re-election for the Chair role as I believe there is more to be done. I would like to thank the outgoing members – John Kerr, Emily Freeman, Jaime Hasley and Kate Allenby – for all their hard work and look forward to working with the new group. I am delighted with the mix of experience and new members, which will help bring new perspectives.”