[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

Sainsbury's ipc athletics gp final text commentary

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Weir Cockroft Peacock Greaves
29 June 2013

Keep up to date with all of today's action via our live text updates, which will appear here. Please refresh your page to see the latest information.

We hope you enjoyed today's coverage. Have a great evening!

Tune in tomorrow for full coverage of the Sainsbury's Grand Prix - Birmingham Diamond League fixture, which features Mo Farah, Greg Rutherford and Robbie Grabarz.

That's it for today's action then folks. I'm sure you'll all agree what a great day it was.
If you want more, we'll have full report of the day's proceedings on our website within the hour. There's also a whole host of interviews with today's winners on our Youtube channel, which can be accessed here: http://www.youtube.com/user/BritishAthleticsTV
You can also follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/BritAthletics
Or like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BritishAthletics

Iwan Thomas announces that Jonnie Peacock has been awarded Sainsbury's Performance of the Day for his 10.90 win in the 100 metres.

Results of that one:
1. Marcel Hug (SUI) 3.27.60
2. David Weir (GBR) 3.28.01
3. Fernando Sanchez Nava (MEX) 3.29.50

Marcel Hug spoils the party for the British fans as he holds off David Weir to take victory.

Weir fifth at the bell......

It's Weir Wolf time!

So standings stayed the same in the men's F42-46 discus:
1. Jeremy Campbell (USA) 62.05 SB
2. Dan Greaves (GBR) 57.37
3. Adrian Matusik (SVK) 50.98

When asked how fast he can run, Jonnie Peacock says: "Keep watching!"

WOW! WHAT A RUN! Jonnie Peacock obliterates the field, missing his WR by just 5 hundredths of a second.

Another false start! This time it's American David Prince, who won the 400m earlier, who gets DQ'd.

Paralympic champion and world record holder Jonnie Peacock takes to his blocks with the noise of the crowd still ringing in his ears......

Results from that race:
1. Michael McKillop (IRL) 2.00.08
2. Brad Scott (AUS) 2.04.40 SB
3. Mohamed Charmi (TUN) 2.05.71 SB

Irishman Michael McKillop led from gun to tape in the T36/37 800 metres, stopping the clock in 2.00.08.

Results update from the women's F42/44 long jump:
1. Martina Caironi (ITA) 4.31 (968pts)
2. Iris Pruysen (NED) 4.92 (802pts)
3. Stefanie Reid (GBR) 4.88 SB (784pts)

The men's F42-46 discus is underway, featuring Paralympic gold and silver medallists Jeremy Campbell (USA) and Dan Greaves (GBR). They are currently lying in that order, with throws of 62.05 and 57.37 respectively.

Results from the women's T37 200m:
1. Bethany Woodward (GBR) 29.48
2. Katrina Hart (GBR) 30.53 SB
3. Maria Siefert (GER) 30.57 

Check out our Youtube channel for instant video interviews with today's leading performers: http://www.youtube.com/user/BritishAthleticsTV

The men's T54 1500m was an extremely close affair, with five athletes in contention down the home straight. However it's Polish athlete Daniel Pek who takes victory in 4.03.89.

So much action here at the Alexander Stadium that we nearly missed the F40/41 women's shot put:

1. Raoua Tilli (TUN) 9.42 SB
2. Armaimia Fathia (TUN) 7.27 PB
3. Holly Neill (GBR) 6.79

Terrific run by Bethany Woodward to take the women's T37 200m in 29.48 ahead of fellow Briton Katrina Hart.

F32/F51 men's club throw results:
1. Stephen Miller (GBR) 28.78 (582pts)
2. Kevin Stokes (USA) 20.95 (542pts)
3. Richard Schabel (GBR) 20.04 (471pts)

The men's F32/51 club throw has drawn to a conclusion, and it was a win for GB & NI's Stephen Miller, who launched the club out to 28.78. 

Hannah Cockroft storms to victory in the T33/34 women's 200m, clocking 32.19, winning by over six seconds!

That would have been a British record for the youngster, were it not for a fractionally illegal wind reading of +2.1m.

Sophie Kamlish of GB & NI clocks 13.56 to edge out American Katie Walker to win the women's T43-46 100m

F42 women's long jump update - GB & NI's Stefanie Reid leaps to 4.88 in round five, pushing her up to third behind Iris Pruysen and Martina Caironi.
Full results of that one:
1. Edith Wolf (SUI) 3.57.91
2. Shirley Reilly (USA) 3.58.74
3. Jade Jones (GBR) 4.00.44

Edith Wolf hits the front at the bell, stealing a march on everyone to take the T53/54 women’s 1500m in 3.57.91.

The women's T54 1500m starts without favourite Shelly Woods who broke a wheel in warm up. However another Britain Jade Jones leads through 400m in 65.26.

Iwan Thomas interviews Richard Whitehead after his DQ, and he apologies to the crowd. You can't help but feel sorry for the big man.

The top three from that T42 200m were:
1. Heinrich Popow (GER) 26.19
2. Atsushi Yamamoto (JPN) 26.63 PB
3. Daniel Jorgensen (DEN) 27.08 SB

After Whitehead's disqualification, it's Paralympic 100m champion Heinrich Popow who wins the T42 200m.

Disaster for the home favourite Richard Whitehead. A false start sees the Paralympic champion disqualified.

What a reception - the crowd go wild as Richard Whitehead is introduced. He goes in lane 6.

Next on track is the men's T42 200m, where the favourite is undoubtedly GB & NI's Paralympic champion Richard Whitehead.

Also underway in the field is the women's F42/44 long jump, where after round one Italian Martina Caironi leads with a personal best jump of 4.00 (818pts).

So, the top three in that women's T53/54 1500m were:
1. Barbara Niewiedzal (POL) 4.31.55 SB
2. Ilona Biacsi (HUN) 4.38.04 SB
3. Bernadett Biacsi (HUN) 4.42.66

Paralympic champion Barbara Niewiedzal of Poland kicks away on the last lap to win the women's T53/54 1500m in a seasons best of 4.31.56.

So here he goes, Stephen Miller with his final throw...... and that looked good. It certainly was, as Miller improves his best to 28.78. He's set a mark for everyone else to chase.

The next event in the field is the F32 men's club throw, and after his first four throws, Stephen Miller has a best of 28.71

Full results from the F41 javelin:
1. Kyron Duke (GBR) 36.50
2. Nike Kappel (GER) 29.82
3. Sean Clare (GBR) 20.26 PB

So, after six rounds, Kyron Duke wins the opening event of the Sainsbury's IPC Athletics GP Final.

At the end of round three, Kyron Duke extends his lead with a throw of 36.50, just shy of his seasons best.
After two rounds it's GB & NI's Kyron Duke who leads with 34.54m.

The men's F41 javelin competitors are introduced to the crowd.

Welcome to the Sainsbury's IPC Athletics Grand Prix Final. We'll be doing our best to keep you up to date with all of today's goings on at the Alexander Stadium.