[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

gb & NI team selected for iau 24 hour running championships

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
British Athletics logo blue on white

20 March 2013

Liz Hawker headlines the GB & NI team for the World and European IAU 24 Hour Running Championships in Steenbergen, Netherlands, on 11-12 May.

Hawker, who won the 100k World Title in 2006 and holds the world record for 24 hours on the road with a distance of 247.076km, is part of a ten-strong GB & NI team that will travel to the Netherlands.

Emily Gelder, who won a bronze medal at this event last year, will also line up as part of the women’s team. Three other athletes who represented GB & NI at the 24 Hour Running Championships in 2012 also return to the team with Debbie Martin-Consani, Sharon Law and Karen Hathaway all being selected.

The men’s team will be led by two-time Commonwealth ultra-running medallist John Pares. Pares is joined in the men’s team by Pat Robbins, who was the first GB & NI finisher at last year’s World Championships in Poland with a 13th place finish overall. Steve Holyoak, Matt Moroz and Robbie Britton make up the rest of the men’s team.

Full GB & NI team:

Robbie Britton
Steve Holyoak
Matt Moroz
John Pares
Pat Robbins

Emily Gelder
Karen Hathaway
Liz Hawker
Sharon Law
Debbie Martin-Consani