[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

bbc sports personality of the year

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Mo Farah

26 November 2013

Hannah Cockroft (coach: Jenni Banks), Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar) and Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan) have been named on the ten-person shortlist for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, which will be presented on Sunday 15 December in Leeds.

These nominations follow the news that Farah and Ohuruogu were voted as British Athletics Male and Female Athletes of the Year last week.

Farah cemented his place as one of the greatest distance runners ever by winning a thrilling double gold over 5,000m and 10,000m at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow and also broke the European 1500m record as he ran a time of 3:28.81.

The 30 year old has now won five global titles after also winning double gold at the London 2012 Olympics and winning 5,000m gold and 10,000m silver at the 2011 World Championships.

Ohuruogu regained the world 400m crown that she previously won in 2007 as she raced to gold in Moscow with a British record time of 49.41. The 2008 Olympic champion also won 4x400m relay bronze in Moscow and earlier in the year won 4x400m gold at the European Indoor Championships in Gothenburg.

Cockroft completed a ‘triple double’ this year as she won T34 100m and 200m at the IPC World Championships in Lyon to add to her double gold at the London 2012 Paralympics and 2011 IPC World Championships.

The full BBC Sports Personality of the Year shortlist is:

Ben Ainslie (sailing)
Ian Bell (cricket)
Hannah Cockroft (athletics)
Mo Farah (athletics)
Chris Froome (cycling)
Leigh Halfpenny (rugby)
Christine Ohuruogu (athletics)
Andy Murray (tennis)
A. P. McCoy (horse racing)
Justin Rose (golf)