[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

sunday times sportswoman of the year awards

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Christine Ohuruogu

9 October 2013

You can now nominate your athletics heroines for The Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards. Nominations are being taken for women that have excelled in sport or made a significant contribution during 2013 and there is no shortage of possible contenders from athletics.

Nominations must be made by midnight on 4 November before an awards ceremony taking place on 5 December which will be broadcast live on Sky.

There are a total of seven award categories which are:

  • The Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year

  • Young Sportswoman of the Year

  • Team of the Year

  • Disability Sports Person of the Year

  • Community Award

  • Lifetime Achievement Award

  • The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration


Christine Ohuruogu (coach: Lloyd Cowan) became one of the Great Britain’s greatest ever athletes as she won a second world title and broke the British 400m record in Moscow in August before being joined by her teammates to take gold in the 4x400m just days later.

Perri Shakes-Drayton (Chris Zah) was dominant at the European Indoor Championships in Gothenburg in March as she won both 400m and 4x400m gold. At the same championships Holly Bleasdale (Scott Simpson) also won gold for GB & NI in the women’s pole vault.

18 year old Jess Judd (Rob Denmark) broke into the senior ranks with 800m victory at the European Athletics Team Championships in Gateshead followed by a string of impressive performances throughout the 2013 season.

The GB & NI 4x100m relay team, which included 17 year old Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie), won a dramatic bronze medal at the World Championships while GB & NI also won gold in the women’s 4x400m relay at both the World Championships and the European Indoor Championships.

At the IPC World Championships in Lyon, Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) added gold in both the T34 100m and 200m to the gold medals that she won in the same events at London 2012.

Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill (Toni Minichiello) was crowned Sportswoman of the Year in 2012 and other previous winners from athletics during the award’s 26 year history include Paula Radcliffe, Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis and Dame Kelly Holmes.

Click here for more information and to nominate an athlete for an award.