[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

iwas junior championships day two

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Megan Dawson-Farrell

6 August 2014

More medals were won on the second day of action at Stoke Mandeville, with the GB & NI team taking their total medal haul up to sixteen at these IWAS Junior Championships.

After narrowly missing out on a medal in the 400m on day one, Megan Dawson Farrell (coach: Ian Mirfin) responded in fine fashion, claiming the gold medal in the T54 1500m in 3:52.12. It set the standard for the rest of the athletes on the second day of action. Mitchell Dutton (Malcolm Wallace) was the second gold medallist of the day in the F38 javelin with a throw of 39.73m.

There was silver medal for Will Smith (Jenny Archer) to add to the bronze he won on day one in the 5000m. In the T54 1500m, he finished in second place in a time of 3:31.9 with Michael McCabe (Christine Parsloe) just behind to take the bronze in 3:37.34. Nathan Maguire (Steven Hoskins) was quicker than in his heat for the T54 400m and it paid off as he also won a silver medal in a time of 53.2.  Pani Mamumeas rounded off the silver medal tally for the day with a 34.91m throw in the F41 javelin.

Bronze was the reward for Toby Gold (Archer) in the T33 400m as he finished in a time of 62.4, quicker than his heat the day before. Lauren Rowles (Job King) was another successful GB & NI athlete over the middle distances, winning the bronze medal in the T54 1500m in 4:04.15. Jamie Carter (Archer) and Nathan Blackie (Martin Cook) just missed out on a bronze medal in the T34 400m, finishing in fourth and fifth respectively in the final. The times of 58.26 for Carter and 65.37 for Blackie were not quite enough for the British pair.

It was the heats of the 200m across the classifications on day two, and the GB & NI athletes qualified with ease. Sheikh Sheikh (Archer) won his heat in the T54 category in a time of 28.95. James Arnott (Stephen Endacott) and Kyle Powell (Ryan Freckleton) won their heats in the T46 and T45 in times of 24.29 and 23.58 respectively. Shaun Burrows (Keith Fradley) also qualified through to the next round of the T37 200m in a time of 25.25.