[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

sayers to captain gb & ni team at the european Championships

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Goldie Sayers
6 August 2014

Goldie Sayers (coach: Mark Roberson) has today been announced as Great Britain & Northern Ireland team captain for the European Championships in Zurich, Switzerland 12-17 August 2014.

Sayers, who competed for the GB & NI junior team as far back as 1998 just two days after her sixteenth birthday, has recently returned from a career-threatening elbow injury. Eleven national titles and fourth at the 2008 Beijing Olympics are amongst the highlights of her 16 year representative career.

She said:

"Obviously I was thrilled when Neil asked me. Having had a fairly nightmarish past 18 months - and not knowing whether I'd ever throw or compete again - getting back into the GB vest alone has been incredible. To say captaincy is an added bonus, is a massive understatement. 

“My initial instinct was to make my captain's speech the best ever, but to be honest, I just hope I can say something suitably inspiring - and be there to offer any advice. I like to think I've picked up quite a bit of experience over the years!

“I’ve been told I am a role model because of my career longevity, but looking around me, at this incredibly young team, I am in awe of how professional and motivated everyone is. There is so much hunger, and so many of the younger guys are already making the huge transition to world class.

“It’s an honour to be captain to this new crop.”

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said: “I was delighted to offer Goldie this captaincy. She has a career that has spanned both junior and senior ranks that sets a real example to the youngsters making that transition.

“If anyone can offer words of advice and inspiration to our team, I know that she can, and I look forward to seeing her back in the GB & NI vest.” 

With the team set to transfer into Zurich this weekend, following a quick transition from Home Country representation in Glasgow, a number of changes are now confirmed.

Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes) will not compete in Zurich after not recovering sufficiently from the foot injury that forced her Commonwealth Games withdrawal. In taking the longer term view rather than short term risk, it will enable her to commence a full winter training programme as originally planned.

Phillips Idowu (Gary Bourne) has also withdrawn following his Glasgow 2014 appearance, with a view to getting back into training and rediscovering his best form.

Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman) has ended his season having struggled last week in Glasgow with a hamstring problem, whilst Meghan Beesley (Nick Dakin) who withdrew from Team England last month with injury will now not compete in Zurich. Shara Proctor (Rana Reider) who pulled out of the Glasgow long jump competition will not travel to Zurich either.

Seb Rodger (James Hillier) replaces Dai Greene (Malcolm Arnold) in the men’s 400m hurdles after the former world champion, who was originally selected subject to achieving the qualifying standard, did not achieve the standard at the Commonwealth Games. Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan) confirmed her place in the team after achieving the standard in Loughborough on 19 July.

GB & NI team for the European Athletics Championships:



Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Rana Reider) – Sutton & District

Dwain Chambers (Reider) - Belgrave

James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge) - Croydon


James Ellington (Reider) – Newham & Essex

Adam Gemili (Fudge) – Blackheath & Bromley

Daniel Talbot (Dan Cossins) - Birchfield


Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley) - Birchfield

Martyn Rooney (Reider) - Croydon

Conrad Williams (Linford Christie) - Kent


Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow) - Harlow

Michael Rimmer (Jon Bigg) – Liverpool Pembroke Sefton


Charlie Grice (Bigg) - Brighton Phoenix

Chris O’Hare (Terrence Mahon) - Edinburgh


Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar) – Newham & Essex

Tom Farrell - Border

Andy Vernon (Nic Bideau) – Aldershot Farnham & District


Mo Farah (Salazar)

Chris Thompson (Alan Storey) – Aldershot Farnham & District

Andy Vernon (Bideau)


James Wilkinson (Phil Townsend) – Leeds City


William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz) - Belgrave

Lawrence Clarke (Malcolm Arnold) – Windsor Slough Eton Hounslow

Andy Turner (Cowan) - Sale


Niall Flannery (Nick Dakin) – Newham & Essex

Tom Burton (Dakin) - Tamworth

Seb Rdoger (James Hillier) – Shaftesbury Barnett

High Jump:

Chris Baker (Sharon Heveran) - Sale

Long Jump:

JJ Jegede (Peter Stanley) – Newham & Essex

Greg Rutherford (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo) Marshall Milton Keynes

Chris Tomlinson – Newham & Essex

Triple Jump:

Julian Reid (Aston Moore) - Birchfield

Pole Vault:

Steve Lewis (Dan Pfaff) – Newham & Essex

Luke Cutts (Trevor Fox) – Dearne ALC

Jax Thoirs (Pat Licari) – Glasgow City


Ashley Bryant (Ian Grant) – WSEH

20k Walk:

Tom Bosworth (Andi Drake) - Tonbridge

4 x 100m:

Aikines-Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Talbot, Gemili, Richard Kilty (Reider) - Gateshead, Chinjindu Ujah (Tawiah-Dodoo) – Enfield & Haringey.

4 x 400m:

Michael Bingham (George Williams) - Birchfield, Hudson-Smith, Nigel Levine (Christie) – WSEH, Rooney, Williams, Rabah Yousif (Carol Williams) – Newham & Essex



Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker) – Newham & Essex

Ashleigh Nelson (Michael Afilaka) - City of Stoke

Desiree Henry (Reider) – Enfield & Haringey


Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie) – Blackheath & Bromley

Bianca Williams (Cowan) - Enfield

Jodie Williams (Bowmaker) - Herts Phoenix


Christine Ohuruogu (Cowan) – Newham & Essex


Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark) - Chelmsford

Alison Leonard (Bud Baldaro) - Blackburn

Lynsey Sharp (Reider) - Edinburgh


Hannah England (Baldaro) – Oxford City

Laura Muir (Andy Young) – Dundee Hawkhill

Laura Weightman (Steve Cram) - Morpeth


Julia Bleasdale - Hillingdon

Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods) – Aldershot Farnham & District

Jo Pavey (Gavin Pavey) - Exeter



Beth Potter (Woods) – Shaftesbury Barnett



Tiffany Porter (Reider) – Woodford Green with Essex Ladies


Eilidh Child (Arnold) - Pitreavie

High Jump:

Morgan Lake (Eldon Lake) - WSEH

Hammer Throw:

Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson) - Blackburn



4 x 100m:

Louise Bloor (Toni Minichiello) - Trafford, Henry, Nelson, Anyika Onuora (Reider) – Liverpool Harriers, Sophie Papps (Cossins) WSEH, Philip, B Williams, J Williams.

4 x 400m:

Margaret Adeoye (Christie) – Enfield & Haringey, Child, Shana Cox (Williams) – Woodford Green EL, Kelly Massey (Stephen Ball) - Sale, Emily Diamond (Cossins) – Bristol & West, Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu (Cowan) – Newham & Essex, J Williams