[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

weekend update

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Joel Fearon
01 August 2016

England Athletics Championships, Bedford, 30-31July

Joel Fearon (coach: Michael Khmel) stole the limelight at the England Athletics Championships as he moved to third on the UK 100mm all-time list. After impressing in the qualifying rounds, the bobsleigh specialist stormed to a 9.96 (+2.0m/s) clocking in the final, to move behind Linford Christie and James Dasaolu on the all-time rankings. This comes just two weeks after he recorded a new lifetime best of 10.04 at the Loughborough European Athletics Permit meeting, where he told journalists he couldn’t run at the Muller Anniversary Games due to Bobsleigh commitments.

There was also a big season’s best of 10.15 for Andrew Robertson (Dan Cossins) in the second place, whilst Reece Prescod (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo) ran a blistering 10.04 (+1.5) in the heat before withdrawing from the final.

Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie) equalled her season’s best of 13.17 while Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk), further extending her British record clocking 13.26 to win on RAZA points. Erin McBride (Robert Roberts) won the women’s 200m mixed event in 26.89, with Maria Lyle (Tabo Huntley) equalling her personal best with a 29.24 run in second.

Cox also went within two tenths of a second of the T38 400m world record held by Russia’s Margarita Goncharova. The Sale Harrier, who has been selected for the Paralympic Games ran 1:02.38, which will see her head to Rio full of confidence.

Kare Adenegan (Job King) continued her Rio preparation in style winning the 100m, 400m and 800m. The teenager moved up to second in the world behind Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) in the T34 100m posting a time of 18.50 and ended a great weekend finishing ahead of Coventry Godiva teammate Mel Nicholls clocking 1:04.10 and 2:09.26 in the 400m and 800m respectively.

Rachel Johncock (Leon Baptise) looked in terrific form as she won the women’s 100m in some style, but was denied a personal best by a +3.3m/s tailwind as she stopped the clock at 11.37. It was a similar story for runner-up Rebecca Campsall (Lewis Samuel), who improved six places on her run last year, running 11.46. She did however shave two hundredths off her personal best in the semi-final as she ran 11.53 (0.9).

Despite not running the final, Sophie Papps (Stuart Challis) produced the fastest time of the day, a 11.27 (1.6) performance to win her semi-final a new lifetime best.

David Omoregie won the men’s 110mH in a fast 13.37, although he was aided by +2.7m/s tailwind.

Mike Edwards won the men’s high jump with a 2.20m clearance, whilst Jonathan Broom-Edwards (both Fuzz Caan) fine-tuned his Paralympic Games preparations with a 2.10m performance for bronze, an equal season’s best.

In the men’s long jump, Dan Gardener (Mike Stayman) produced a lifetime best leap of 7.96m (1.6) to secure victory, whilst Stef Reid (Aston Moore) produced another world class jump of 5.46m to win the ambulant women’s event.

Ben Rowlings (Job King) took both the 400m and 800m titles, joined on the 400m rostrum by Rio team-mates Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman) and Toby Gold (Jenni Banks), with Will Smith (Jenny Archer) rewarded 800m bronze for his gun-to-tape 1:46.29.

Rising star Polly Maton (Colin Baross) was also in impressive form with a lifetime best of 12.77, which sees her climb to number three in the world in the T47 rankings.



Meeting voor Mon, Kessel-Lo, Belgium, 30 July

Adelle Tracey (Craig Winrow) was just outsider her personal best as she finished second over 800m in 2.01.48, with Alison Leonard (Bud Baldaro) one place further back in 2.01.71. Hannah England (Baldaro) was ninth in 2.03.45.

Results: http://www.toastit-live.be/results/2016/jul/za30/event020h04.html


Tim Wealthall Miles & Richard Belton Meeting, Nottingham, 28 July

Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman) became the first man ever to run a sub four minute mile in Nottingham as he stopped the clock in 3.59.4, the exact same time as Roger Bannister ran to become the first man ever to break the barrier back in 1954. Richard Weir (Spencer Duval) was second in 4.02.4, with Cameron Boyek (Vince Wilson) third in 4.03.1.

Results: http://powerof10.info/results/results.aspx?meetingid=176178