[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

captains announced for european youth championships

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Niamh Emerson
12 July 2016

Ahead of the forthcoming European Youth Championships in Tbilisi, Georgia, athletes have elected their captains to lead the British team over the four days of action, which takes place between 14-17 July.

Niamh Emerson (David Feeney), Sabrina Sinha (Peter Mullervy), Sam Talbot (Eldon Lake) and Markhim Lonsdale (David Lowes) will take on the responsibility of inspiring a team, which includes a number of debutants. 

Emerson will go into the championships full of confidence after recording a personal best score of 5,815 in the heptathlon last month, which saw her eclipse the previous British heptathlon youth record held by Katarina Johnson-Thompson. 

The Amber Valley athlete, who won bronze in the high jump at the British Championships said: “It’s a huge privilege just to wear the kit, but to lead the team; it’s a massive honour for me.

“I’m ranked third in Europe, so to secure a medal or to be in the mix to get one would definitely be something that I’m looking to do.”

Sinha meanwhile goes into the European Youth Championships ranked number one over 1500m ahead of teammate Erin Wallace (Dudley Walker), but after a number of appearances in the British vest; the 17 year old is going to put all her experience to good use.

The World Youth finalist said: “This is the first time I’ve been top of my age group because all the rest I’ve been one of the youngest in the team. I guess to be ranked first there is a bit of expectations, but the only pressure I put on myself as opposed to what anyone else puts on me.” 

Lonsdale, who competed at the World Youth Championships in Cali, Colombia, last year has strong hopes for the team and individually in the 800m, where just three tenths of a second separate the top four in the world.

The 2014 London Mini Marathon winner spoke of his excitement of being named one of the captains: “We’ve got such a great team, so to be a team captain and seen as a role model is a great feeling. The team is absolutely amazing and has bonded so well already. We’ve got really close and we’re ready and raring to go for the championships ahead.

“I’m looking to qualify for the 800m final – there are three rounds, which is going to be challenging but I’d at least like to medal. In the top four there’s only 0.3 of a difference, so there could be a chance of a sneaky gold.”

Completing the four captains leading the strong British team is Talbot, who will be buoyed by his performance in May where he scored 7035 points in the decathlon and in the processing setting a new British youth record.

The Exeter athlete said: “It’s an honour being selected by fellow athletes to be one of the captains. It’s a really exciting team with some real quality.”

“I’m looking for a really good performance and we’ll see what that brings. We had our first session on the track and everyone is excited and looking forward to getting underway in a few days’ time."

A stream will be available via: http://eych2016.domtel-sport.pl

The British Athletics team for the European Athletics Youth Championships, Tbilisi, Georgia, 14-17 July:



Jona Efoloko (John Smith)

Joseph Massimo (Stephen King)


Ellis Greatrex (Claudio Albanese)


George Mills (Joanne Day)

Markhim Lonsdale (David Lowes)


Jake Heyward (Paul Darney)


Isaac Akers (Bill Boyd)

Alasdair Kinloch (Mark Hookway)

110m hurdles:

Ethan Akanni (Tony Jarrett)

Jason Nicholson (Janice Kaufman)

400m hurdles:

Alastair Chalmers (Dale Garland)

Alex Knibbs (Julie Feeney)

2000m steeplechase:

George Groom (Stephen Murphy)


Sam Talbot (Eldon Lake)


James Tomlinson (Paul Jensen)


Jake Norris (Paul Dickenson)

High jump:

Joel Khan (Deirdre Elmhirst)


Daniel Bainbridge (David Parker) 

Triple jump:

Jude Bright-Davies (David Johnson)




Alisha Rees (Willy Russell)


Isabelle Boffey (Douglas Stone)

Anna Burt (Kevin Brunt)


Sabrina Sinha (Peter Mullervy)

Erin Wallace (Dudley Walker)


Kathleen Faes (Nikolaas Faes)

Lucy Pygott (Mick Woods)

5000m Race Walk:

Sophie Lewis Ward (Noel Carmody)


Niamh Emerson (David Feeney)

High jump:

Ada’Ora Chigbo (Ken Holmes)  

Abby Ward (Ian Hill)

Long jump:

Eleanor Broome (Ian Roberts)

Holly Mills (James Coney)

Pole vault:

Jessica Robinson (Ellie Spain)