[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Weir, Yelling and Robinson excel in Flora London Marathon

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Robinson FLM 2008
Robinson enjoyed close tussle with Baldini
Yelling FLM 2008
Yelling achieves PB on streets of London


13 April 2008





Irina Mikitenko and Martin Lel were the victors at the Flora London Marathon today. Germany’s Mikitenko took the women’s title in 2.24.12, whilst Lel outsprinted fellow Kenyan Sammy Wanjiru to win the men’s title with a course record of 2.05.15.


Top Brits were David Weir who took his third Flora London Marathon wheelchair race title and Liz Yelling (Bedford & County) and Dan Robinson (Stroud AC) who finished 9th and 13th in their respective fields.


Yelling’s 2.28.33 was a massive personal best and showed her hard work in recent months has paid off – she needed to be on top form however as Kilbarchan’s Hayley Haining also set an impressive PB of 2.29.18 in finishing 12th.


Robinson ran another solid London Marathon enjoying a battle with reigning Olympic Champion Stefano Baldini in the closing stages to clock 2.13.11. Thomas Abyu faded in the final stages after being leading Brit for the early part of the race and came home in 2.15.50.


In the Elite Wheelchair races Weir won his third London Marathon in a row after a perfectly timed effort gave him a morale boosting win in this Paralympic year.

Weir's time of 1.33.56 beat Australia's Kurt Fearnley into second place with France's Denis Lemeunier in third – and marks a great comeback for Weir who has struggled with illness during his winter preparations.


In the women’s race, Switzerland's Sandra Graf set a new course record to win in 1.48.05 – Shelly Woods managing third position in 2.01.59 in a high quality but rain drenched race.


For further race results visit the results section of the Flora London Marathon website



UKA and England Athletics Championship results


UKA  Individual Marathon Championship




1st  Liz Yelling        Bedford County A.C.      2:28:33

2nd Hayley Haining Kibarchan A.C.              2:29:18

3rd Lucy Hasell      Bristol and West A.C.     2:40:31


England Athletics Individual Marathon Championship


1st  Liz Yelling       Bedford County A.C.      2:28:33 

2nd Lucy Hasell     Bristol and West A.C.    2:40:31

3rd Kim Fawke      Telford A.C.                   2:42:08


UKA / England Athletics Women, s Marathon Championship Team Result


1st  Reading Road Runners      8:43:47


Liz Hartney      2:49:24

Sarah Gee       2:51:16

Lesley Whiley  3:03:07 


2nd  London Heathside            8:49:53


Angela Howe     2:51:02

Sarah Swan      2:52:55

Anna Critchlow  3:05:56


3rd St Albans Strides              8:58:31


Katy Webster     2:53:39

Deborah Steer    2:58:38

Elizabeth Mckie 3:06:14


4th Belgrave Harriers              9:03:42


Victoria Knight   2:51:35

Erica Fogg        3:04:44

Nikki Neal         3:07:23


UKA / England Athletics Individual Marathon Championship


1st  Dan Robinson  Stroud and District A.C.  2:13:10

2nd Tomas Abyu    Salford Harriers              2:15:49

3rd  Peter Riley      Leigh  Harriers               2:18:21


UKA / England Athletics Men's Marathon Championship Team Result


1st  Leeds City A.C.                7:24:56


Darren Bilton            2:23:49

Christopher Birchall  2:23:58

Adam Osborne        2:37:09 


2rd Thames Hare and Hounds  7:27:56 


John McFarlane      2:23:17

Julian Rendall         2:29:25

David Symons        2:35:14


3rd Shaftesbury Barnet           7:33:15


Orlando Edwards    2:26:48

Kevin Robertson     2:29:03

Anthony Jackson   2:37:24


4th Winchester and District A.C. 7:35:26


Phil Killingley        2:29:45

Andrew Greenleaf  2:29:47

Julian Mann          2:35:54