[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section


Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Nathan Stephens

10 August 2010

Beijing Paralympian Nathan Stephens (coach: Anthony Hughes), defending IWAS World Junior Champion in the F57 shot putt and javelin, has been named in an 18-strong Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the annual event in Olomouc, Czech Republic, from 20-26 August 2010.

Stephens, who also won discus silver in 2009, will be aiming to go one better on this occasion as he returns to competitive action following a shoulder operation.

With less than a month to go until the qualification period closes for the 2011 IPC Athletics World Championships, the Cardiff-based athlete is also targeting ‘A’ qualification standards for the global event in Christchurch, New Zealand next January.

Also included in the team are sprint duo Ola Abidogun (coach: Steven Thomas) and Jonnie Peacock (coach: Hayley Ginn), both promising under-20 athletes.

Abidogun, a bronze medallist in this year’s Tunis Open, is likely to be selected to compete for England in October’s Commonwealth Games in Delhi and will be aiming to beat his 11.59 100m season’s best in Czech, while Peacock, who made his Aviva GB & NI debut in the Paralympic World cup in May, will gain valuable international competition experience. 

UKA’s Paralympic Performance Manager Paula Dunn, Team Leader, said:

“Following a series of high quality domestic events with this year’s UKA Disability Athletics Challenge series and a number of Aviva Parallel Success events, our under-23 athletes have now got the chance to compete against the world’s best in their age group at the IWAS Juniors.

“With the IPC World Championships only five months away, the event also presents the last major competition opportunity for many of these athletes to secure qualifying standards.

“Selection for this event was very competitive this year with 22 qualifiers going for limited slots, so congratulations to all of those who have made the team.”

Aviva GB & NI Team

Ola Abidogun (Steven Thomas): T46 100m/200m

Joseph Allen (Martin Rush): T46 800m/1500m/5000m

Hollie Arnold (Shelley Quarin): F46 Javelin

Sally Brown (Philip Tweedy): T46 100m/200m

Sean Clare (Shelley Quarin/Jane Clare): F40 Shot Putt/Discus

Aled Davies (Anthony Hughes): F44 Shot Putt/Discus

Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes): F40 Javelin

Nicole Emerson (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson): T53 100m/200m/400m/800m/1500m

Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson): T54 100m/200m/400m/800m/1500m

Daniel Lucker (Jenny Archer): T54 100m/200m/400m/800m/1500m

Scott Moorhouse (Shelley Quarin): F42 Javelin

Joshua Morgan (Anthony Hughes): F46 Shot Putt/Discus

Holly Neill: F40 Shot Putt/Discus/Javelin

Jonathan Peacock (Hayley Ginn): T44 100m/200m

Vicky Silk (Anthony Hughes): F40 Shot Putt/Discus/Javelin

William Smith (Jenny Archer): T54 100m/200m/400m/800m

Nathan Stephens (Anthony Hughes): F57 Javelin/Discus

Owain Taylor (Anthony Hughes): F57 Shot Putt/Discus