[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

Innovation Awards

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us


07 January 2010

UKA are looking for scientists, academics, students and others who have completed work contributing to the development of an aspects of athletics to enter their projects in the European Athletics Innovation Awards.

The biennial competition, which was established in 1998, offers awards in five categories and a CHF 20,000 prize fund.

For the first time, a category for sustainability will be included. The others will be coaching, promotion, technology and an open category.

Entries will be judged for their quality and relevance to athletics by an expert panel. The author of the top project in each category will receive CHF 2,000 and be advanced to the final round.

The panel will select the overall winner for its importance to the development of athletics.

The first prize of CHF 10,000 will be presented at an awards ceremony during the European Athletics Convention in Novi-Sad in October.

The winning project in 2008 was a submission from Sweden entitled "Hamstring Muscle Strain in Sprinters."  It was one of the first attempts to systematically characterise and follow up a serious problem that threatens the careers of many top athletes.

The competition is open to all Europeans. The final date for receipt of entries is 31 May 2010.

For further information visit the European Athletics Website or contact European Athletics Member Services Manager Bill Glad at bill.glad@european-athletics.org.