[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section


Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Jack Meredith

06 July 2010

World junior top ranked athletes Jack Meredith (coach: Donald Moss) and David Guest (coach: Michael Guest) have been named in a 45-strong Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland team in the second and final wave of selections for the IAAF World Junior Championships in Moncton, Canada (19-25 July).

Decathlete Guest, the England Combined Events Champion, leads the global rankings courtesy of a 7727 PB achieved with the senior implements in June and is second only to double Olympic champion Daley Thompson in the All-Time list in that category.

Meredith, demonstrating impressive current form with victory in the Mannheim international on 3-4 July, is the UK junior record holder over 110mH with 13.32 - a mark he’s now improved on two occasions in 2010 – following a brilliant victory at the Samsung Diamond League under-20 event in Oslo.

Also achieving UK junior records in 2010, Holly Bleasdale (coach: Julien Raffalli-Ebezant) and Laura Samuel (coach: Glenys Morton) will travel to Canada with confidence having enjoyed recent success with podium finishes against seniors in the Aviva European Trials and UK Championships ten days ago.

Bleasdale – who will be joined on the team by training partner Andrew Sutcliffe (coach: Julien Raffalli-Ebezant) - was impressive when exceeding her own UK under-20 pole vault mark with 4.35m to finish second, while Samuel recorded a 13-metres-plus legal jump for the first time with a senior title winning mark of 13.52m.

World Youth triple jump champion Ben Williams (coach: John Crotty) is also named and joins double World Youth Champion Jodie Williams (coach: Mike McFarlane) and European Junior bronze medallist Sophie Hitchon (coach: Derek Evely) who were announced in the first wave of selections on 23 June.

Team Leader Kevin Tyler, UKA’s Strategic Head of Coaching and Development, said: “We’re delighted to be able to name such a strong group of athletes for this year’s IAAF World Junior Championships. Many of those selected onto the Aviva GB & NI team have already proved they can compete well under pressure, but with 16 of them currently ranked in the top eight in the world in their events, now is the time for them to do justice to those positions when they take to the global stage.”

Aviva GB & NI Team


100m: Deji Tobais (Simon Duberley) – Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow; 200m: Kieran Showler-Davis (John Davis) – Basingstoke & Mid Hants; Danny Talbot (Dan Cossins) - Birchfield; 800m: Niall Brooks (Norman Poole) – Sale Harriers Manchester; Adam Cotton (Geoff James) – Birchfield; 1500m: Harry Ellis (Phil Hicken) - Warrington; 110mH: Jack Meredith (Donald Moss) - Liverpool; 400mH: Jack Green (June Plews) – Kent; 3000m SC: Matthew Graham (Patrick Savage) - Kirkintilloch; High Jump: Sam Bailey (Carol Jackson) – Chelmsford; Pole Vault: Matthew Devereux (Steve Rippon) - Newham & Essex Beagles; Andrew Sutcliffe (Julien Raffalli-Ebezant) - Sale Harriers Manchester; Triple Jump: Kola Adedoyin (Frank Attoh) – Newham & Essex Beagles; Ben Williams (John Crotty) – City of Stoke; Discus: Zane Duquemin (John Hillier) – Jersey; Lawrence Okoye (John Hillier) – Croydon;Javelin: Daniel Pembroke (Kevin Pembroke) – WSEH; Decathlon: Ashley Bryant (Ian Grant) - WSEH; David Guest (Michael Guest) - Bridgend; 4 x 100m Relay: Liam Clowes (Steve Walker) – Crewe & Nantwich; Junior Ejehu (Ayo Falola) – Woodford Green with Essex Ladies; Jordan Huggins (Mike McFarlane) – Enfield & Haringey; Showler-Davis; Talbot; Tobais; Sam Watts (Gladys Bird) – WGEL; 4 x 400m Relay: Green; Richard Morrissey (Mark Bishop) – Havering Mayesbrook; Dan Putnam (John Blackie) – Blackheath & Bromely; Sebastian Rodger (Steve King) - Eastbourne; Nathan Wake (Ayo Falola) - Herts Phoenix


100m: Marylyn Nwawulor (coach: Harry King/Carol Jackson) - Harrow;Jodie Williams (Mike McFarlane) – Herts Phoenix; 200m: Emily Diamond (Jared Deacon) - Bristol & West;  Williams; 800m: Sarah Kelly (Liz McColgan)– Dundee Hawkhill Harriers; 1500m: Laura Weightman (Steve Cram) - Morpeth; 3000m: Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods) – Aldershot, Farnham & District; 5000m: Kate Avery (Bob Ashwood)- Shildon; High Jump: Isobel Pooley (George Male) – AFD; Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale (Julien Raffalli-Ebezant) - Blackburn;  Sally Scott (Steve Rippon) – Gateshead; Triple Jump: Laura Samuel (Glenys Morton) – Leicester; Long Jump: Lorraine Ugen (Frank Attoh) - Blackheath & Bromley;Hammer: Sophie Hitchon (Derek Evely) – Blackburn; Myra Perkins (Alan Bertram) – Falkirk Victoria Harriers;4 x 100m Relay: Jennie Batten (Roger Walters) - Stroud; Diamond; Twinelle Hopeson (Josef Hopeson-Sowah) - Croydon; Nwawulor; Shaunna Thompson (Robert Gaisie) - Sale Harriers Manchester; Williams; Rebekah Wilson (Morris Condon) – Sale Harriers Manchester