[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

European Youth Olympics: Selections

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us

UK Athletics today announced the names of 22 talented teenagers who will form the Team GB track and field squad at the European Youth Olympic Festival to be staged in Belgrade, Serbia, on 22-27 July:


Under 18 Men – 100m: Eugene Ayanful (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies). 200m: Andrew Robertson (Sale Harriers Manchester). 400m: Wayne Ashall (Liverpool Pembroke Sefton). 800m: Paige Haines (Basildon). 1500m: Richard Peters (Bristol and West). 110m hurdles: James McLean (Southend). 400m hurdles: Niall Flannery (Gateshead). High jump: Gary Coulter (Ballymena and Antrim). Pole vault: Ryszard Buk (Croydon). Long jump: Stuart Hitchcock (Medway and Maidstone). Triple jump: Nathan Fox (Shaftesbury Barnet). Javelin: Ashley Bryant (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow).


Under 18 Women – 200m: Twinelle Hopeson (Croydon). 400m: Carmen Gedling (Liverpool Harriers). 800m: Rachel Stringer (City of Norwich). 1500m: Jessica Burns (City of Plymouth). 3000m: Blue Haywood (Lincoln Wellington). 400m hurdles: Nicola Hill (Havering Mayesbrook). Pole vault: Sally Scott (Gateshead). Long jump: Alex Russell (Wigan). Discus: Katie Wickman (North Devon). Javelin: Peta Lundgren (Herts Phoenix).


The athletes are among a total of 63 teenagers representing Team GB in seven sports: athletics, cycling, gymnastics, judo, swimming, table tennis and tennis. A total of 2,196 athletes from 48 countries will take part in eleven sports (seven individual and four team sports).


For the full details of the team and the European Youth Olympics Festival, please go to http://www.beograd2007.org