[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

World Youth Championships: Selections

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Asha Philip
Asha Philip
UK Athletics today announced the Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the IAAF World Youth Championships to be staged in Ostrava, Czech Republic, on 11-15 July.


Included are two athletes who went to the top of the World Under 18 rankings with their performances at the trials, which were incorporated into the Norwich Union England Athletics Under 20 Championships at Bedford last weekend. Christopher Clarke clocked 46.70 seconds in the 400m and Asha Philip, won the Under 20 Women’s 100m in 11.37 seconds to break the UK Under 17s’ 100m record that had been held for 14 years by Katherine Merry, who went on to win the Olympic 400m bronze medal at Sydney in 2000.


“We have a really strong team of 13 boys and 14 girls to help get the country excited on the way to London 2012,” said Team Leader Paula Dunn, the former GB international sprinter who is now a UKA Talent Development Manager. “All 27 are capable of finishing in the top 10 of their events, which amounts to tremendous potential at World level. This will be a great learning experience as they prepare to grow into successful seniors.” The full team is:


Under 18 Men – 100m: Jordan Huggins (Enfield and Haringey AC), Olufunmi Sobodu (Blackheath and Bromley). 400m: Chris Clarke (Marshall Milton Keynes AC), Jordan McGrath (Solihull and Small Heath Harrier). 800m: Christopher Harvey (Cannock and Stafford AC). 1500m: Simon Horsfield (East Cheshire Harriers). 10km walk: Ben Wears (Redcar Race Walking Club). 400m hurdles: Michael Baker (Medway and Maidstone). Pole vault: Nick Cruchley (Halesowen C&AC). Shot: Curtis Griffith-Parker (Cambridge Harriers), Michael Wheeler (Herne Hill Harriers). Discus: Griffith-Parker. Hammer: Peter Smith (Kingston-upon-Hull AC). Javelin: Dan Pembroke (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow).


Under 18 Women – 100m: Ashlee Nelson (City of Stoke AC), Asha Philip (Newham and Essex Beagles). 800m: Alison Leonard (Blackburn Harriers), Lynsey Sharp (Edinburgh AC). 1500m: Louise Small (Aldershot, Farnham and District). 3000m: Beth Potter (City of Glasgow). 2000m steeplechase: Sarah Hopkinson (Gloucester AC), Louise Webb (Team Southampton). 100m hurdles: Ashley Helsby (Liverpool Harriers), Jenny Taker (Trafford AC). Long jump: Abigail Irzuzu (Sale Harriers Manchester), Jade Nimmo (Falkirk Victoria Harriers). Shot and Discus: Shaunagh Brown (Blackheath and Bromley). Hammer: Sophie Hitchon (Pendle AC).