[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

European U20 Championships: Selections

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
James Brewer
James Brewer - 800m

UK Athletics today announced the first wave of selections for the Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland team to contest the European U20 Championships in Hengelo, Netherlands, on 19-22 July.


Among the 41 are the reigning European U20 5000m Champion Emily Pidgeon plus current European U20 ranking leaders Nigel Levine in the 400m and Emma Jackson in the 800m. Selections:


Under 20 Men – 100m: James Alaka (Blackheath and Bromley), Leevan Yearwood (Victoria Park Harriers and Tower Hamlets). 200m: Luke Fagan (Enfield and Haringey), Alex Nelson (Sale Harriers Manchester), David Telfer-James (Enfield and Haringey). 400m: Nigel Levine (Bedford and County). 800m: James Brewer (Cheltenham and County), Mark Mitchell (Forres Harriers). 110m hurdles: Julian Adeniran (Charnwood AC), Gianni Frankis (Newham and Essex Beagles). 400m hurdles: Toby Ulm (Swindon Harriers), Nathan Woodward (Tamworth AC, subject to fitness). 4x100m: full team to be confirmed. 4x400m: full team to be confirmed. High jump: Alan McKie (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow). Pole vault: Luke Cutts (Dearneside AC, subject to fitness). Discus: Brett Morse (Cardiff AAC). Hammer: James Bedford (Kingston-upon-Hull AC), Alex Smith (Sale Harriers Manchester). Javelin: James Campbell (Cheltenham and County). Decathlon: Daniel Awde (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies, subject to fitness).


Under 20 Women – 100m: Elaine O’Neill (Wessex and Bath), Lucy Sargent (Havering Mayesbrook), Anike Shand-Whittingham (Blackheath and Bromley). 200m: Joey Duck (Marshall Milton Keynes), Hayley Jones (Wigan). 400m: Holly Croxford (Winchester). 800m: Hannah Brooks (Crawley), Emma Jackson (City of Stoke). 1500m: Emma Pallant (Aldershot, Farnham and District). 3000m: Jessica Coulson (Stockport). 5000m: Emily Pidgeon (Gloucester), Charlotte Purdue (Aldershot, Farnham and District). 400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley (Tamworth AC), Perri Shakes-Drayton (Victoria Park and Tower Hamlets). High jump: Vikki Hubbard (Grantham), Adele Lassu (Barnsley). Triple jump: Jayne Nisbet (Edinburgh). Shot and Discus: Eden Francis (Leicester Coritanian). Heptathlon: Jade Surman (Birchfield).


The team will be finalised next week, giving several athletes a further chance to impress the selectors at meetings such as the UK Challenge JumpsFest at Alexander Stadium, Birmingham, on Saturday 30 June (10.30am to 6pm), the British Milers’ Club Nike Grand Prix incorporating the UK Challenge and UKA Endurance Initiative at Watford on Saturday 30 June (5pm til late) and the UK Challenge ThrowsFest at Alexander Stadium, Birmingham, on Sunday 1 July (10am to 6pm).