[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

Team Change for European Cup

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us


13 June 2008



UK steeplechase record holder Barbara Parker (City of Norwich) has withdrawn from the Norwich Union GB & NI Team for next weekend’s SPAR European Cup in Anncey, France opting to return to the United States to concentrate on preparations for Beijing. Hatti Dean (Hallamshire), who is currently second in the British rankings, will compete in her place.


Shot-putter Mark Edwards (Birchfield Harriers) has withdrawn due to personal reasons. He will be replaced by Carl Myerscough (Blackpool Wyre & Fylde AC), the current number two in the British rankings.


Michael Rimmer (Liverpool, Pembroke & Sefton Harriers) will be replaced by Richard Hill (Notts AC) in the 800m.


Lee McConnell (Shaftsbury Barnet Harriers) and Tim Benjamin (Cardiff AAC) have also withdrawn from the relay teams.  


Dave Collins, UK Athletics Performance Director said: “There is always a possibility of changes to the team leading up to competitions and this situation is only heightened as we are in an Olympic and Paralympic year. 


"The European Cup is an important marker in the season but obviously I fully understand why athletes are being cautious in the run up to Beijing."








100m: Tyrone Edgar (Newham & Essex); 200m: Marlon Devonish (Coventry Godiva); 400m: Martyn Rooney (Croydon); 800m: Richard Hill (Notts AC) 1500m: Tom Lancashire (Bolton Harriers); 3000m: Andy Baddeley (Harrow AC); 5000m: Mo Farah (Newham & Essex); 3000m steeplechase: Andrew Lemoncello (Fife AC); 110m H: Andy Turner (Sale Harriers Manchester); 400m H: Dale Garland (Channel Islands AC); High Jump: Samson Oni (Belgrave Harriers); Pole Vault: Steve Lewis (Newham & Essex); Long Jump: Chris Tomlinson (Newham & Essex); Triple Jump: Phillips Idowu (Belgrave Harriers); Shot: Carl Mysercough (Blackpool Wyre & Fylde); Discus: Emeka Udechuku (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies); Hammer: Mike Floyd (Sale Harriers Manchester); Javelin: Michael Allen (Trafford AC); 4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Sutton & District), Devonish, Edgar, Rikki Fifton (Victoria Park & Tower Hamlets), Christian Malcolm (Cardiff AAC), Craig Pickering (Marshall Milton Keynes); 4x400m: Richard Buck (City of York),Rooney, Andrew Steele (Trafford AC), Rob Tobin (Basingstoke & Mid Hants), Conrad Williams (Kent AC)



100m: Emma Ania (Shaftesbury Barnet); 200m: Christine Ohuruogu (Newham & Essex); 400m: Nicola Sanders (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow); 800m: Jenny Meadows (Wigan & District Harriers); 1500m: Susan Scott (City of Glasgow). 3000m: Helen Clitheroe (Preston Harriers); 5000m: Jo Pavey (Exeter Harriers); 3000m sc: Hatti Dean (Hallamshire) 100m H: Sarah Claxton (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies); 400m H: Tasha Danvers (Shaftesbury Barnet); High Jump: Susan Moncrieff (Trafford AC); Pole Vault: Louise Butterworth (Birchfield Harriers); Long Jump: Jade Johnson (Herne Hill); Triple Jump: Nony Mordi (Shaftesbury Barnet); Shot: Rebecca Peake (Sale Harriers Manchester); Discus: Philippa Roles (Swansea Harriers); Javelin: Goldie Sayers (Belgrave Harriers); Hammer: Zoe Derham (Birchfield Harriers): 4x100m: Ania, Montell Douglas (Blackheath & Bromley), Emily Freeman (Wakefield Harriers), Jeanette Kwayke (Woodford Green & Essex Ladies) Anyika Onuora (Liverpool Harriers), Kadi-Ann Thomas (Marshall Milton Keynes AC);  4x400m: Vicki Barr (Rugby & Northampton), Meadows, Ohuruogu, Marilyn Okoro (Shaftesbury Barnet), Kelly Sotherton (Birchfield Harriers)