[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

England and Scotland teams for Loughborough

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Jessica Ennis
Jessica Ennis

England Athletics have included three Olympics 4x100m relay champions and new world heptathlon No.1 Jessica Ennis in their team for the Loughborough International, incorporating the UK Challenge, on Sunday 20 May.


European Indoor 60m champion Jason Gardener, Marlon Devonish and Mark Lewis-Francis are in the relay squad for the match against Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland Juniors and senior teams representing Scotland, Wales, British Universities and Loughborough Past and Present.


Ennis will contest the 100m hurdles and long jump a fortnight after breaking the UK Under 23s’ heptathlon record held by Denise Lewis, who went on to win the Olympic title in Sydney.


England Athletics Performance Manager Alison Wyeth said: “Fittingly, the team is a mixture of experienced internationals and newcomers at the start of a season in which the possibilities seem endless … IAAF World Championships, European Under 23 Championships, World University Games, and several more England representative fixtures to provide more stepping stones towards top international competition.”


The England team is:


Men – 100m and 200m: Leon Baptiste (Enfield and Haringey AC). 400m: Andrew Steele (Trafford AC). 800m: Richard Hill (Notts AC). 1500m: Gareth Price (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers). 3000m: Phil Nicholls (Tipton Harriers). 3000m steeplechase: Glen Comish (Sale Harriers Manchester). 110m hurdles: David Hughes (Trafford AC). 400m hurdles: Dale Garland (Channel Islands AC). High jump: Martin Lloyd (Bexley AC). Pole vault: Joe Ive (Belgrave Harriers). Long jump: Leigh Smith (Birchfield Harriers). Triple jump: Julian Golley (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC). Shot: to be named. Discus: Abdul Buhari (Newham and Essex Beagles). Hammer: Andy Frost (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies). Javelin: Neil McLellan (Stevenage and North Herts AC). 4x100m: Marlon Devonish (Coventry Godiva Harriers), Jason Gardener (Wessex and Bath AC), Dwayne Grant (Blackheath and Bromley Harriers), Chris Lambert (Belgrave Harriers), Mark Lewis-Francis (Birchfield Harriers). 4x400m: Richard Buck (City of York AC), Garland, Hill, Steele, Richard Strachan (Leeds City AC).


Women – 100m: Joice Maduaka (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies). 200m: Emma Duck (Team Southampton). 400m: to be named. 800m: Hannah England (Oxford City AC). 1500m: Faye Fullerton (Havering Mayesbrook AC). 3000m: Jessica Sparke (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies). 3000m steeplechase: Hatti Dean (Hallamshire Harriers Sheffield). 100m hurdles and long jump: Jessica Ennis (City of Sheffield AC). 400m hurdles: Hannah Stares-Douglas (Belgrave Harriers). High jump: Susan Moncrieff (Trafford AC). Pole vault: Emma Lyons (Notts AC). Triple jump: Nadia Williams (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers). Shot: Jo Duncan (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies). Discus: Kara Nwidobie (Blackpool and Fylde AC). Hammer: Zoe Derham (Birchfield Harriers). Javelin: Laura Whittingham (Sale Harriers Manchester). 4x100m: Emily Freeman (Wakefield and District Harriers), Maduaka, Anyika Onuora (Liverpool Harriers), Stares-Douglas, Laura Turner (Harrow AC). 4x400m: Duck, Fraser, Lesley Owusu (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC), Stares-Douglas, Rebecca Sweeney (Sale Harriers Manchester).


The Scotland team is liberally sprinkled with gold medallists from last weekend’s Scottish Closed Championships … Nony Mordi, who improved her triple jump personal best to 12.97m; World Junior 4 x 400m relay bronze medallist Kris Robertson, whose time of 47.68 seconds was only marginally outside his 2006 best; Jamie Coull, who achieved a sprints double; pole vaulters Richard Hurren and Kirsty Maguire; and long jumper Gillian Cooke, whose Championship Best of 6.39m was within 4cm of the longstanding national record.


The team is:


Men – 100m: Gary Carr (Ashford AC). 200m: Jamie Coull (Pitreavie AAC). 400m: Kris Robertson (Kirkintilloch Olympians AC). 800m: Graeme Oudney (Pitreavie AAC). 1500m: Kevin Kane (Inverclyde AC). 3000m: Chris Mackay (Greenock Glenpark Harriers). 3000m steeplechase: Stephen Lisgo (Mansfield Harriers). 110m hurdles and long jump: Roger Skedd (City of Stoke AC). 400m hurdles: Francis Smith (Pitreavie AAC). High jump: Thomas Campbell (Victoria Park AAC). Pole vault: Richard Hurren (Falkirk Victoria Harriers). Triple jump: Antony Daffurn (Shettleston Harriers). Shot and discus: Scot Thompson (Belgrave Harriers). Hammer: Graeme Allan (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers). Javelin: Chris Smith (Arbroath and District AC). 4x100m: Carr, Coull, Steven Charters (City of Edinburgh AC), Fraser Mackenzie (East Kilbride AC), Ryan Oswald (Pitreavie AAC). 4x400m: Alan Low (Giffnock North AAC), Donald McLeod, Oudney, Robertson, F Smith, Allan Stuart (Shettleston Harriers).


Women – 100m and 200m: Susan Deacon (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). 400m: Gemma Nicol (Dunfermline and West Fife AC). 800m: Claire Gibson (Kilbarchan AAC). 1500m: Joanna Ross (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). 3000m: Nicola Gauld (Aberdeen AAC). 3000m steeplechase: Allison Simpson (Johnnie Walker Kilmarnock Harriers). 100m hurdles: Alyssa Fullelove (City of Glasgow AC). 400m hurdles: Eilidh Child (Pitreavie AAC). High jump: Rachel MacKenzie (Inverness Harriers). Pole vault: Kirsty Maguire (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). Long jump: Gillian Cooke (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). Triple jump: Nony Mordi (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers). Shot: Alison Rodger (Victoria Park AAC). Discus: Kirsty Law (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers). Hammer: Katie Horne (City of Glasgow). Javelin: Ashley Austin (City of Glasgow). 4x100m: Cooke, Deacon, Louise Dickson (Edinburgh Southern Harriers), Stacey Downie (Pitreavie AAC), Fullelove, Sara Whigham (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). 4x400m: Child, Carey Easton (Edinburgh Southern Harriers), Kathryn Evans (Elgin AAC), Gibson, Emma Kemp (Stevenage and North Herts AC), Nicol. Reserve: Lynsey Sharp (Edinburgh Southern Harriers).


Mike Johnston, Scotland Team Head Coach, said: “The Loughborough International meeting presents a great opportunity for our athletes to perform ahead of team selections for high profile European and World Championship events. With a number of our athletes selected to represent GB Juniors and Loughborough, this presents a unique opportunity for more than one Scot to compete in some of the events on this international stage.”



  • Lee McConnell (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers) is in the 400m hurdles for Loughborough Students while James Campbell (javelin), David Martin (4 x 400m), Jayne Nisbet (triple jump) and Jade Nimmo (long jump) are in the Norwich Union GB&NI Junior Team.