[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Norwich Union GB&NI Junior Team for Loughborough

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Alex Nelson - World Juniors medallist
Alex Nelson - World Juniors medallist

UK Athletics today named the Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland Junior Team for the Loughborough International, incorporating the UK Challenge, on Sunday 20 May.


The squad includes 10 finalists from last summer’s World Junior Championships in Beijing – 200m bronze medallist Alex Nelson, 110m hurdler Gianni Frankis, pole vaulter Luke Cutts, javelin thrower James Campbell, 100m fourth placer Asha Philip, 400m hurdler Perri Shakes-Drayton, high jumper Vikki Hubbard and sprint relay runners Hayley Jones, Elaine O’Neill and Lucy Sargent – plus James Brewer, who broke into the senior GB team to run the 800m at this winter’s European Indoor Championships.


This is the team’s first competition on the way to this summer’s major targets: the European Junior Championships in Hengelo, Netherlands, on 19-22 July and, for Under 18s, the IAAF World Youth Championships in Ostrava, Czech Republic, on 11-15 July and the European Youth Olympic Festival in Belgrade, Serbia, on 22-27 July.


Norwich Union GB&NI Junior Team Leader Martin Rush said: “We have selected a team of experienced heads and new faces. In accordance with the selection policy, we have opted for athletes who are targeting the European Junior Championships except where very good performances by Under 18s have been recognised.


“The team staff are looking forward to working with the athletes and their coaches on the first step to the Championships. Bearing in mind the ultimate aim is to produce successful athletes at senior level, we will be looking at the athletes’ attitude and approach to this event as well as their performances.”


The full squad for the match against senior squads representing England, Scotland, Wales, British Universities and Loughborough Past and Present, is:


Men – 100m: Alex Nelson (Sale Harriers Manchester). 200m: Danny Doyley (Blackheath and Bromley Harriers). 400m: Nigel Levine (Bedford and County AC). 800m: James Brewer (Cheltenham and County Harriers). 1500m: Ross Millington (Stockport Harriers)*. 3000m: Lee Carey (Nuneaton Harriers). 3000m steeplechase: Adam Peers (Wirral AC). 110m hurdles: Gianni Frankis (Basildon AC). 400m hurdles: Toby Ulm (Swindon Harriers). High jump: Alan McKie (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC). Pole vault: Luke Cutts (Dearnside AC). Long jump: Andrew Jones (Shrewsbury AC). Triple jump: Trevor Okoroafor (Croydon Harriers). Shot: Jay Thomas (Kent AC). Discus: Brett Morse (Cardiff AAC). Hammer: James Bedford (Kingston upon Hull AC). Javelin: James Campbell (Cheltenham and County Harriers). 4x100m: Doyley, Luke Fagan (Enfield and Haringey AC), Nelson, Olufunmi Sobodu (Blackheath and Bromley), David Telfer-James (Enfield and Haringey), Leevan Yearwood (Victoria Park Harriers and Tower Hamlets). 4x400m: Chris Clarke (Marshall Milton Keynes AC), Robert Davis (Birchfield Harriers), Levine, David Martin (Victoria Park - City of Glasgow AC), Jordan McGrath (Solihull and Smallheath Harriers), Phillip Norfolk (Enfield and Haringey.


Women – 100m: Asha Philip (Newham and Essex Beagles). 200m: Hayley Jones (Wigan). 400m: Meghan Beesley (Tamworth). 800m: Emma Jackson (City of Stoke AC). 1500m: Emma Pallant (Aldershot, Farnham and District). 3000m: Olivia Kenney (Royal Sutton Coldfield). 100m hurdles: Hannah Francis-Smithson (Leeds City AC). 400m hurdles: Perri Shakes-Drayton (Victoria Park Harriers and Tower Hamlets). High jump: Vikki Hubbard (Grantham AC). Pole vault: Sally Scott (Gateshead Harriers). Long jump: Jade Nimmo (Falkirk Victoria Harriers). Triple jump: Jayne Nisbet (Edinburgh Southern Harriers). Shot: Eden Francis (Leicester Coritanian). Discus: Shaunagh Brown (Blackheath and Bromley). Hammer: Hayley Murray (Nuneaton Harriers). Javelin: Simone Huggins-Ward (Coventry Godiva Harriers). 4x100m: Joey Duck (Marshall Milton Keynes AC), Jones, Ashlee Nelson (City of Stoke AC), Philip, Lucy Sargent (Havering Mayesbrook AC), Jenny Taker (Trafford AC). 4x400m: Beesley, Holly Croxford (Winchester), Carmen Gedling (Liverpool Harriers), Alison Leonard (Blackburn Harriers), Elaine O’Neill (Wessex and Bath), Shakes-Drayton.


*subject to confirmation