[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

european youth olympic trials

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Victoria Ohuruogu
Ohuruogu has stepped up to 400m

5 May 2010

UKA today announced the full team for the forthcoming European Youth Olympic Trials (EYOT) in Moscow on 21-23 May, including Victoria Ohuruogu (coach: Lloyd Cowan) younger sister of 2008 Olympic 400m gold medallist Christine.

Ohuruogu, who stepped up from 300m to 400m this year and proceeded to win the Aviva England 400m indoor U20 Championships, will travel to the Russian capital, as part of a 22 strong team, to compete in the trials which will act as qualification for the IOC Youth Olympic Games (YOG), in Singapore 14-26 August.

Annie Tagoe (coach: Connie Henry, Clarence Calendar), who will contest the 100m, received the SPAR outstanding achievement award at the 2009 UKA Awards Dinner after winning both the 100m and 200m at the England U17 Championships in Bedford.

Pole vaulter Katie Byres (coach: Julien Raffalli- Ebezant) had a great start to 2010 breaking the British All-Time U17 record once indoors and twice outdoors. She set a new personal best of 4.03m at the McCain Young Athletes League meeting in Blackpool and now the 16 year old is in sixth position on the UK senior rankings.

Javelin duo Freya Jones (coach: Bill Bushnell) and Matti Mortimore (coach: Esa Utrianinen) have both impressed early on in their careers. Mortimore broke the British under-15 javelin record five times in 2007 and was the youngest athlete to be included on the World Class Performance Programme while Jones won the England U17 Championships, finished top of the UK under-17 rankings and fourth in the senior rankings in 2009.

Georgia Peel (coach: Mick Woods) was ranked first for U17 3,000m in 2009 following an international win at the World School Games in Doha, Qatar. She recently finished second in the Virgin London Mini Marathon over 3,000m and will race over 1,000m against her international peers in Moscow.

Jo Jennings, UKA Team Leader said: “We are delighted to now announce the full team selection of 22 under18 athletes for this inaugural Youth Olympic competition.”

“Selections have been made to take a competitive team to the trials in Moscow, with the aim of qualifying as many athletes through to the final in Singapore as possible, representing Team GB – an exciting prospect and unique experience only two years out from London 2012.”

Both competitions were identified by UKA to provide valuable international experience for aspiring under 18 athletes and only those who are sufficiently advanced in their performance to gain a positive experience from the YOG have been selected for the EYOT in line with the UKA Selection Policy. http://www.uka.org.uk/world-class/2010-selection-policies/




100m: Jerome Musa Lawal (Connie Henry) Shaftesbury Barnet; David Bolarinwa (John Powell) Cambridge Harriers

200m: David Bolarinwa (John Powell) Cambridge Harriers

400m: Josh Street (Matthew Thomas) South London

1000m: Charlie Grice (Jon Bigg) Phoenix AC

3000m: N/A

2000m steeple chase: Zak Seddon (Jeff Seddon) Bracknell AC

100mh: Themba Luhana (Chloe Cozens) Rugby & Northampton; James Gladman (Neville Jones) Warrington

400mh: N/A

Pole Vault: Jax Thoirs (Brian Donaldson) Victoria Park City of Glasgow

Long Jump: N/A

High Jump: N/A

Triple Jump: N/A

Shot:  N/A  

Discus: Liam Biddlecombe (Nigel Bevan) Yeovil

Hammer:Andrew Elkins (Dennis Elkins) Shaftesbury Barnet

Javelin: Matti Mortimore (Esa Utrianinen) Ipswich * subject to fitness


100m: Annie Tagoe (Connie Henry, Clarence Calendar) Thames Valley

200m: N/A

400m: Victoria Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan) Newham & Essex Beagles

1000m: Georgia Peel (Mick Woods) AFD; Katie Snowden (James McDonald) Herne Hill

3000m: N/A

2000m steeple chase: N/A

100mh: Georgia Atkins (Steve Mitchell) Chelmsford

400mh: Abigayle Fitzpatrick (Morris Condon, Mark Fitzpatrick) Warrington

High Jump: N/A

Pole Vault: Katie Byres (Julien Raffalli- Ebezant) Sale

Long Jump:N/A

Triple Jump: N/A

Shot:  Sophie McKinna (Geoff Capes) Great Yarmouth

Discus: N/A

Hammer: Louisa James (Ron James) Hastings AC; Abbi Carter (Dave Smith) Hull Achilles       

Javelin: Freya Jones (Bill Bushall) Team Southampton