[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Countdown to the UK Awards Dinner

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Goldie Sayers presents award

The short list for this year’s UK Award winners will now be announced on Wednesday 8 November. The Celtic Nation and English Regional award winners were announced in March, following a nomination process which seeks to recognise and reward clubs, volunteers, officials, coaches and partnerships for their contribution to the sport throughout the preceding 12 month period.


Current GB & NI athletes will present the UK Awards on Saturday 25 November at the UK Awards Dinner supported by Heidsieck & Co Monopole, the new Official and Exclusive Champagne to UK Athletics and the GB & NI team.


Guest Speaker at the Awards Dinner to take place at the NEC, Birmingham is Steve Cram MBE, former world record holder over 1500m, 2000m and the mile. MC for the evening is Allison Curbishley, former Olympian now BBC Five Live athletics summariser.


Across the 19 categories of UK Award winners in 2005, the Track & Field club of the year went to Milton Keynes AC, the award capped a wonderful year for the club which led to two members Greg Rutherford and Craig Pickering becoming European Junior Champions, in addition to a successful Community Athletics Refurbishment Programme (CARP) award and thriving membership numbers.


Club Chairman Mick Bromilow summed up his reaction as “gob smacked” on hearing the news last year, he went on to say: “I’ve always been tremendously in favour of an awards scheme that helps recognise the volunteers in the sport and this is great for the club.”


Milton Keynes had further recognition last year, as Mike Leonard, head sprints coach was named the Performance Coach of the Year. Six months after winning his UK Award, Leonard

was named the first Norwich Union Developing Elite Coach by UK Athletics. He has since been mentored by Malcolm Arnold at the University of Bath, where sprinter Craig Pickering is based.


Amongst the other Award Winners in 2005 was Zoe McKinnon, named Emerging Coach of the Year. McKinnon from Horsham Blue Star Harriers was a sprint hurdler and former English Schools Champion, but left the sport to pursue a career in the fire brigade. She decided to get involved again as a coach with instant success.


Officiating newcomer of the year went to Gavin Berry of Basingstoke and Mid Hants AC, who attended 20 athletics meetings across Hampshire in 2004 after passing his field officials exam. He describes one of his highlights so far as being selected to officiate at the Norwich Union London Grand Prix in 2005. But next year, he moves on to his first major championship, Gavin will be officiating at the 2007 European Indoor Athletics Championships in Birmingham.


Tickets for the UK Awards Dinner on Saturday 25 November at the NEC, Birmingham are £25. Tickets for the Annual Congress on Sunday are £15. To receive a booking form, e-mail congress@ukathletics.org.uk or phone 0870 998 6798.