[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

UK Awards 2006 – Shortlist announced

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
UK Awards

Following the Regional and Celtic National Awards made earlier this year, the shortlist for the 2006 UK Awards has been decided.


The UK Award winners for 2006 will be announced at the UK Awards Dinner supported by Heidsieck & Co Monopole champagne at the NEC, Birmingham on Saturday 25 November. These awards recognise and reward Clubs, Volunteers, Officials, Coaches and Partnerships for their contribution to athletics throughout the preceding 12-month period and reflect the dedication of thousands of people working in athletics across the UK.


Across 19 different award categories, with nominations from each of the Home Countries and English regions, there are hundreds of great stories to tell, but the shortlist is as follows;


Track & Field Club of the Year

Enfield & Haringey  (London)

Marshall Milton Keynes (South)

Notts AC (East Midlands)


Off Road Club of the Year

Lagan Valley (Northern Ireland)

Morpeth Harriers (North East)

Newbury AC (South)


Junior Club of the Year

Slough Juniors  (South)

Stratford Upon Avon AC (West Midlands)

Whitemoss AAC (Scotland)
Bingley Harriers (Yorkshire)


Club Innovation of the Year

Colchester & Tendring  (East)

Marshall Milton Keynes (South)

Sale Harriers Manchester (North West)


Club Officer of the Year

Mick Bromilow  (South)

Kath Crane  (Wales)

Bob Spark (North West)

Katy Warhurst (East Midlands)


Club Volunteer of the Year

Nick Groocock (South)

Charlie Kelly (West Midlands)

Mari Levack (Scotland)


Emerging Talent of the Year

Deborah Bray  (South West)

Mary Nightingale (South East)

Helen Simmonds  (Wales)


Strategic Leader of the Year

Mick Bromilow (South) 

John Graves (West Midlands)

Leslie Roy (Scotland)
Graeme Woodward (Yorkshire)


Young Volunteer of the Year

Sam Harrison (London)

Hannah Mitchell (East Midlands)

Sarah Williams (West Midlands)


Volunteer Co-ordinator of the Year

Steve Bosley (London)

Dave Paver (Yorkshire)

Alan Potts (Scotland)


Services to Officiating

Ernie Cripps (East Midlands)

Roy Dyer (South)

Graham Healey (West Midlands)
Edwin and Christine Bellamy (Yorkshire)


Officiating Newcomer of the Year

Jonathan Shaw (East)

Kate Whigham (Scotland)


Off Track Official of the Year

Paul Ross  (South West)

Alan Robinson (Northern Ireland)

Graham Sword  (Scotland)


Performance Coach of the Year

Lyndsey Dunn  (North East)

John Glover (Northern Ireland)

Neville Marshall  (East Midlands)


Development Coach of the Year

Geoff Barrett (North West)

David Lucas (South West)

Tim Raynor (East Midlands)


Emerging Coach of the Year

Candie Lintern (South East)

Jamie Scott (North East)


Services to Coaching Development

Mick Cole (South East)

Nikki Mottishaw (East Midlands)

Ray Scovell (South)


Facility Partnership of the Year

Central Park Athletics (South East)

Fairway Sports Centre (South)

Isle of Wight

Perivale, Ealing (London)


Athletics Partnership of the Year

NWDADA (North West)

Swansea Harriers (Wales)

City Council and University
West Yorkshire Sport


To book your place at the UK Awards Dinner on Saturday 25 November or the Annual Congress of Athletics on Sunday 26 November, please e-mail congress@ukathletics.org.uk or phone 0870 998 6798. Tickets for the UK Awards Dinner are £25 and tickets for Congress are £15 each.