[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

UK Club Awards 2006 Winners

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Club Awards 2006

The UK Awards Dinner on Saturday 25 November was sold out a week before with 280 people attending, including those short listed for the 2006 UK Club Awards and a number of great British athletes past and present.


Amongst the highlights were Sale Harriers Manchester taking the title of Club Innovation for 2006, a fitting tribute to the work of Honorary Club Secretary Frank Starkie, who sadly passed away earlier this year. Frank spent almost two years working on plans for the Playing for Success Initiative that was a first for athletics in the UK; a dedicated learning centre in partnership with Manchester City Council was officially opened in March this year.


Marshall Milton Keynes regained the title of Track & Field club of the year for 2006, following another successful year for the club that continues to be ahead of the game in terms of club development. The club recently secured sponsorship from Marshall Amplification Ltd for six years until 2012.


Scottish Athletics celebrated the news that Alan Potts (City of Glasgow) was awarded the title of Volunteer Co-ordinator of the year, for his outstanding work co-ordinating 1500 volunteers at the 2005 Special Olympics in Glasgow. Graham Sword (West District, Scotland) was honoured Off Track Official of the year for his tireless commitment to officiating in addition to balancing his role as finance officer for both the Track & Field Commission and Cross Country Commission at Scottish Athletics.


From Wales, Helen Simmonds (Brecon AC) was named Emerging Talent of the year in recognition of her huge commitment to the sport as Club Secretary and a member of the East Wales Regional Athletics Board, as well as Welsh Athletics cross country team manager.


Track & Field Club of the Year – Marshall Milton Keynes


Off Track Club of the Year – Morpeth Harriers


Junior Club of the Year – Slough Juniors AC


Club Innovation – Sale Harriers Manchester


Club Officer of the Year – Mick Bromilow (Marshall Milton Keynes AC)


Club Volunteer of the Year – Charlie Kelly (Coventry Godiva Harriers)


Emerging Talent of the Year – Helen Simmonds (Brecon AC)


Strategic Leader of the Year – John Graves (Tamworth AC)


Young Volunteer of the Year – Hannah Mitchell (Sutton in Ashfield AC)


Volunteer Co-ordinator of the Year – Alan Potts (City of Glasgow AC)


Services to Officiating Award – Roy Dyer (Hampshire AA)


Officiating Newcomer of the Year – Jonathan Shaw (Herts Phoenix AC)


Off Track Official of the Year – Graham Sword (West District of Scotland)


Performance Coach of the Year – Lindsay Dunn (Chester Le Street & District)


Development Coach of the Year – Geoff Barrett (DASH Athletics)


Emerging Coach of the Year – Jamie Scott (Gateshead Harriers)


Services to Coaching Development – Nikki Mottishaw (Notts AC)


Facility Partnership of the Year – Perivale Track, Ealing


Athletics Partnership of the Year – North West Disability Athletics Group