[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

Bedford and Charnwood Take Relay Glory

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Neilson Hall XC relays 2008
Neilson Hall anchors Bedford to glory at Berry Hill
 2 November 2008


Bedford & County and Charnwood AC took the main prizes at the ECCA Cross Country Relay Championships in Mansfield on Saturday.  Neilson Hall anchored Bedford & County home in the senior men’s race with a swift 5k lap of 14:58.05 of the Berry Hill Park course to bring them home in 1:01:09.80.

Newham & Essex came through for silver in 1:01:29.20, with Morpeth Harriers & AC just seven seconds adrift in third. In the senior women’s race, Juliet Doyle brought home the bacon for a Charnwood AC with a solid 10:06.09 leg on the 3k course, for a total finish time of 30:43.65, 15 seconds clear of Havering Mayesbrook AC and a further 15 seconds on from bronze medal winning Kendal AAC.


The individual plaudits went to Steve Vernon (Stockport Harriers) and in-form Freya Murray (Chester le Street & District) who produced the day’s fastest legs with 14:51.05 and 9:47.40 in the senior men’s and women’s events respectively.

In the junior events, New Marske Harriers took the men’s crown with 27:19.65 on the 3x3k course and in the junior women’s race, there was a remarkable demonstration of the depth of talent at Aldershot, Farnham & District as their A and B teams took first and second place.

Additionally, of the top ten individual clockings, five were Aldershot, Farnham & District athletes, led by the day’s fastest of all, Olympic 1500m semi-finallist Steph Twell, who covered the 2.5k course in 8:00.45.





1. Bedford & County, 1:01:09.80
2. Newham & Essex, 1:01:29.20
3. Morpeth Harriers, 1:01:36.60

1. Steve Vernon (Stockport Harriers), 14:51.05
2. Mick Skinner (Blackheath & Bromley), 14:54.90
3. Adam Bowden (Harrow AC), 14:55.35


1. Charnwood AC, 30:43.65
2. Havering Mayesbrook AC, 30:59.00
3. Kendal AAC, 31:15.80

1. Freya Murray (Chester le Street), 9:47.40
2. Sophie Morris (Windsor, Slough, Eton & Hounslow), 10:03.90
3. Faye Fullerton (Havering Mayesbrook AC), 10:04.15


For more information, see: http://www.englishcrosscountry.co.uk/