[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

uka futures programme announcement

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
UKA 2009 Logo v2

08 November 2010

UKA today confirmed its continued investment into young athletic talent and their coaches with the next wave of the Futures Programme announced for the coming funding cycle. The 28 identified athlete/coach pairings include a number of Aviva GB junior team representatives and all have been identified as potential future medallists.

The Futures Programme - which supports athletes and their coaches prior to their entry onto the World Class Performance Programme (WCPP) - was borne out of the desire to provide more targeted support for young talented athletes and their coaches. It focuses on athletes with the potential to deliver global medals for Britain in the future, typically in the 17 to 20 age range but with flexibility towards athletes who are deemed an exceptional case for support.

Athletes and their coaches will be supported in their individual development plans allowing for more flexibility and individual discretion around distribution of resources.

Included on the Programme are Aviva GB & NI junior duo and cross country specialists Emelia Gorecka (coach: Mick Woods) and Jonathan Hay (coach: Woods) in addition to Commonwealth Games trio Max Eaves (coach: Alan Richardson), a bronze medallist in Delhi, Meghan Beesley (coach: Nick Dakin), who retains her place, and Vikki Hubbard (coach: Graham Ravenscroft), who also represented the Aviva GB team at the World Indoor Championships earlier this year.

Katie Byres (coach: Julien Raffalli) and Sophie McKinna (coach: Geoff Capes), who both represented Team GB at the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in Singapore in August, are also named on the Programme for the 2010/11 cycle.

UKA Head of Coaching and Development Kevin Tyler said: “We are delighted to be able to support 28 outstanding athlete and coach partnerships through the UKA Futures Programme. The pairings have earned their way onto the programme and we are confident that our strategy of investing in talented athletes and receptive coaches is an effective means of ensuring we have strong GB & NI senior representation going forward.”

UKA Futures Programme leader Jo Jennings added: “With the Futures Programme entering its second year, we will be supporting a group of very strong athletes and their coaches in their plans and preparations for a busy 2011 season.

“Selection criteria for the Programme this year were very tough but we strongly believe that these athletes all have the potential to advance to the WCPP and a successful senior career.

“I really look forward to working with these talented coach-athlete pairs over the coming year and seeing them progress.”

Full information on the UKA Futures Programme can be found at: http://www.uka.org.uk/world-class/uka-futures-programme/

UKA Futures 2010/2011 Athletes and Coaches:

Kola Adedoyin (coach: Frank Attoh); Eugene Ayanful (coach: Jared Deacon); Meghan Beesley (coach: Nick Dakin); Katie Byres (coach: Julien Raffalli); James Campbell (coach: Mick Hill); Adam Cotton (coach: John Nuttall [Geoff James)); Matt Devereux (coach: Alan Richardson); Emily Diamond (coach: Jared Deacon); Max Eaves (coach: Alan Richardson); Tremayne Gilling (coach: Lloyd Cowan); Emelia Gorecka (coach: Mick Woods); Jonathan Hay (coach: Mick Woods); Vikki Hubbard (coach: Graham Ravenscroft); Abigail Irozuru (coach: John Herbert); Freya Jones (coach: Bill Bushnell); Jessica Judd (coach: Jeremy Freeman); Sarah Kelly (coach: Liz McColgan); Alison Leonard (coach: Arthur Almond); Sophie McKinna (coach: Geoff Capes); Mukhtar Mohammed (coach: Mustafa Mohammed); Matti Mortimore (coach: Esa Utrainen); Lawrence Okoye (coach: John Hillier); Jermaine Olasan (coach: Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo); Louis Persent (coach: Steve Garnham); Andrew Pozzi (coach: Malcolm Arnold (Paul Bearman)); Stacey Smith (coach: Mick Woods); Danny Talbot (coach: Dan Cossins); Deji Tobais (coach: Simon Duberley)