[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

President of UK Members Council

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Lynn Davies
Lynn Davies CBE

9 October 2007


Lynn Davies CBE has been elected unopposed as President of the UK Members Council for a further four years following the close of nominations.


 UK Athletics confirmed that the former Olympic long jump champion has been chosen by the sport to continue in his role up to 2011, after no other candidates were nominated to stand following public notification of the election process.


 The UK Members Council is the custodian of the long-term interests of athletics in the UK and undertakes the statutory functions of members such as approving the appointment of Directors.


 Davies continues his role for a second term in what he described as a unique time for the sport.


 "It’s an honour to be elected to this position once again. This is an exciting time to be involved, with London set to host an Olympic Games, a summer of promising performance at every level and a new senior management team in place who can lead athletics and drive the sport to 2012 and beyond.


 "I am immensely proud to be able to continue in this role and I’m looking forward to contributing and supporting the work of the UK Athletics board and staff."


UK Athletics Chairman Ed Warner said: "I am delighted to have Lynn’s counsel for a further four years.


"He is an excellent ambassador for the sport and his experience and skills are invaluable. I look forward to continuing working with him and the rest of the UK Members Council as we guide athletics into a new chapter that will ensure a sustainable future for the sport."


Davies will continue to serve on the Council alongside Mike Winch (Vice-President), Bill Adcocks, Stan Burton, Chris Cohen, John Caine, Lord Seb Coe, Roy Corry, Jonathan Edwards, John Graves, Lynette Harries, Mike Harris, Mark Hollinshead, Graham Jessop, Keith May and Michael Squires.