[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Belgrave and AFD triumph at ERRA road relays

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us



20 October 2008




Belgrave Harriers and Aldershot Farnham and District took the honours at the ERRA Road Relays at the weekend in the men's 6 stage and women's 4 stage relays on Saturday at Sutton Park.


Results from the event are taken into consideration in the selection of the Norwich Union Great Britain & Northern Ireland Team for next month’s Chiba Ekiden Relay in Japan.


In the men’s race Belgrave Harriers ‘A’, made up of Steve Sharp, Nick Goolab, Stephen Davies, Simon Jones, Phil Wicks and Neil Speaight, took the top spot with a time of 1:45.18. Wicks producing the third fastest of all legs in the competition.


Notts AC ‘A’ claimed second place with 1:45.50. Chris Warburton led out the team in the first leg, Martin Whitehouse, Tim Hartley, Jonathan Thewlis, Ian Boneham and Bruce Raeside followed.


In third were Newham & Essex Beagles ‘A’. Ian Grime started the campaign, Steve Hepples, Keith Gerrard, Kevin Skinner, Daniel Pettit and Moumin Geele brought the team home in 1:45:51.


Fastest legs:

1 Andy Vernon (Aldershot, Farnham & District) 16:49

2 Scott Overall (Blackheath & Bromley) 16:54

3 Phil Wicks (Belgrave Harriers) 17:00



In the women’s event, Aldershot, Farnham & District were top contenders. World junior 1500m bronze medalist Emma Pallant led out the team while Emily Adams, Vicky Gill and Charlotte Purdue followed. They won with a time of 57.24.


Charnwood AC ‘A’ took second place crossing the line in 59:09 thanks to efforts by Claire Mensley Sarah Maude, Juliet Doyle and Jane Potter.  Chester Le Street and District ‘A’ claimed third in 59:16. Melissa Turner, Alyson Dixon, Freya Murray and Maxine Czarnecka made up the team.


Fastest legs:

1 Freya Murray (Chester Le Street & District) A 13:50

2 Charlotte Purdue (Aldershot, Farnham & District) A 13:54

3 Caroline Hoyte (Arena 80 AC) A 14:09