[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section

ipc athletics world championships

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Stephen Miller
Stephen Miller

27 September 2010

Three-times World Champion Stephen Miller (coach: Ros Miller) is one of four defending champions to be named onto the 40-strong Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland team for the IPC Athletics World Championships in Christchurch, New Zealand, from 21-30 January 2011.

The event, which is the last major Paralympic event at senior level prior to the Paralympic Games in London, offers a significant competition opportunity in the countdown to 2012.

Miller - a veteran of four Paralympic Games, three World Championships and two European Championships - has won 24 medals on the global stage since his Paralympics debut at 16 and is joined by experienced team mates David Weir (coach: Jenny Archer), Bev Jones (coach: John Parkin) and Dan Greaves (coach: Jim Edwards), also gold medallists four years ago.

Representing a small group of development level athletes, outstanding junior talent Jade Jones (coach: Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson) - winner of five gold medals and one silver medal in August’s IWAS World Junior Championships - has already proved her credentials at age group level and steps up to compete in a senior event on the global stage for the first time; while she is undoubtedly a potential medal hope in Rio 2016, the 2011 World Championships offers an excellent opportunity to progress to the highest level of competition ahead of the Paralympic Games in London 2012.

UKA Head Coach (Paralympic) and Team Leader Peter Eriksson said: “We’re travelling to New Zealand with a group of athletes we expect to challenge for medals, which is our main priority. In addition, looking ahead to future Paralympic Games, the World Championships provides another vital opportunity for our senior athletes to compete at the highest level against the best athletes in the world, while for our juniors it’s an important stepping stone towards London, but ultimately to Rio in 2016.”

Aviva GB & NI Team

Hollie Arnold (Anthony Hughes): F46 Javelin

Graeme Ballard (Steve Thomas): T36 100m/200m

Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk): T36 400m/800m/1500m

Sally Brown (Philip Tweedy): T46 100m/200m

Mickey Bushell (Fred Periac): T53 100m/200m/400m

Kenny Churchill (Esa Utriainen): F37 Javelin

Libby Clegg (Tom Crick): T12 100m/200m

Hannah Cockroft (Peter Eriksson): T34 100m/200m

Aled Davies (Anthony Hughes): F42 Shot Putt/Discus

David Devine (Brian Scobie): T13 800m

Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes): F40 Javelin

Dan Greaves (Jim Edwards): F44 Discus

Thomas Green (Ken Green): F32 Club Throw

Sophie Hancock (Shelley Holroyd): F40 Shot Putt

Katrina Hart (Rob Ellchuk): T37 100m/200m

Tracey Hinton (Darrell Maynard): T11 100m/200m/400m

Bev Jones (John Parkin): F37 Discus/Shot Putt

Ian Jones (John Dunne): T44 200m/400m

Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson): T54 200m/400m/800m

Chris Martin (Phil Peat): F33 Discus

Jenny McLoughlin (Darrell Maynard): T37 100m/200m

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller): F32 Club Throw

Scott Moorhouse (Shelley Holroyd): F42 Javelin

Danny Nobbs (Mike Woods): F54 Shot Putt

Jonnie Peacock (Hayley Ginn): T44 100m

Josie Pearson (Peter Eriksson): T52 100m/200m

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood): F32 Club Throw/Shot Putt

Stefanie Reid (Dan Pfaff): T44 100m/200m, F44 Long Jump

Hazel Robson (Janice Coffman): T36 100m/200m

Ben Rushgrove (Rob Ellchuk): T36 100m/200m

Nathan Stephens (Anthony Hughes): F57 Javelin

Kieran Tscherniawsky (James Edwards): F33 Discus

Sophia Warner (Alan Denyer): T35 100m/200m

David Weir (Jenny Archer): T54 800m/1500m/5000m/Marathon

Dan West (Jim Edwards): F34 Shot Putt/Discus

Richard Whitehead (Liz Yelling): T42 200m

Claire Williams (Jim Edwards): F12 Discus

Rob Womack (Mike Wood): F55 Shot Putt

Shelly Woods (Pete Wyman): T54 800m/1500m/5000m/Marathon

Bethany Woodward (Todd Bennett): T37 100m/200m