12th November 2013


12 November 2013

Five British Athletics heroines have been shortlisted for the Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards.

Christine Ohuruogu (coach: Lloyd Cowan), Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes), Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie), Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) and Sophie Hahn (Joseph McDonnell) are all vying for a variety of awards.

  • Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year: Christine Ohuruogu

  • Young Sportswoman of the Year: Dina Asher-Smith & Katarina Johnson-Thompson

  • Disability Sports Person of the Year: Hannah Cockroft & Sophie Hahn


The awards ceremony takes place on Thursday 5 December and will be broadcast live on Sky.

Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill (Toni Minichiello) was crowned Sportswoman of the Year in 2012 and other previous winners from athletics during the award’s 26 year history include Paula Radcliffe, Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis and Dame Kelly Holmes.