3rd December 2013


03 December 2013

Rising stars Dina Asher-Smith (coach: John Blackie), Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark) and Isaac Towers have all been shortlisted for the 2013 BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year.

Asher-Smith enjoyed a particularly successful 2013, winning European Junior Championships 200m gold in Rieti, before going on to win bronze in the 4x100m relay at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow. The 17 year old has also recorded personal bests in the 100m and 200m taking her best times down to 11.38 and 23.14 respectively.

Judd has also made her mark on the international stage winning during 2013 800m gold at the European Team Championships in Gateshead. The 18 year old also broke the elusive two minute barrier, beating a world-class field on her way to victory at the Sainsbury’s Grand Prix recording a time of 1:59.85. Judd completed her season by competing for GB & NI at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow.

Towers has made a real breakthrough in 2013, recording personal bests across nine events and winning three golds and a silver at the England U15 Championships. The 15 year old also won 400m gold, 200m silver and 800m silver at the England Athletics Senior Disability Championships completing a remarkable year for the teenager, who was rewarded with a place on the World Class Performance Programme for 2013-14.

The 10 contenders shortlisted for the prestigious BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year 2013 award are:

Dina Asher-Smith – Athletics

James Guy – Swimming

Amber Hill – Shooting

Charley Hull – Golf

Adnan Januzaj – Football

Jess Judd – Athletics

Amy Marren – Paralympic swimming

Rebekah Tiler – Weightlifting 

Isaac Towers – Wheelchair athletics

Kimberley Woods – Canoe Slalom

The BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year award is awarded to the outstanding young sportsperson of the year, who is aged 17 or under on 1 January 2013, selected from nominations made to the BBC and by sports governing bodies via the Youth Sport Trust. Previous winners include Ellie Simmonds, Wayne Rooney, Tom Daley and Andy Murray.

The shortlist was drawn from the nominations by a panel of judges including; Olympic triathletes Alistair and Jonathan Brownlee, 2001 Young Sports Personality winner Amy Spencer, BBC Radio 1’s Tina Daheley, Blue Peter and MOTD Kickabout presenter Radzi Chinyanganya and Blue Peter Sport Champion Daniel Allen. Representatives from the Youth Sport Trust; Ali Oliver (Managing Director), Will Roberts (Head of Sport), Phil Chamberlain (Policy & Communications Director) and BBC Sports Personality of the Year Executive Editor Carl Doran were also on this year’s panel.

The panel decide the top 10 contenders and the top three from the list of nominations, choosing a winner by secret ballot. The top three will be announced live on Blue Peter on Thursday 12 December (CBBC Channel) and the winner will be announced live at BBC Sports Personality of the Year, taking place this year at the first direct arena, Leeds on Sunday 15 December.