12th May 2009

Aviva GB And NI Junior Team


12 May 2009

UKA have announced the Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland junior team for the McCain Loughborough International this Sunday (17 May 2009).

2008 World Junior Championships silver medallist Ashlee Nelson is selected for the 200m, whilst World Junior 400m finalist Jordan McGrath will open his season over the one lap event – running the individual race and the 4x400m relay.

Other athletes from last year’s World Juniors in Bydgoszcz, Poland who will be focussed on using Loughborough as a springboard to qualify for European Junior Championships Novi Sad, Serbia in July are Chris Clarke (4x400m), Abigail Irozuru (long jump), Curtis Griffith Parker (Shot and Discus), Peter Smith (Hammer) and Sophie Hitchon (Hammer).

The team will face opposition from Loughborough Students, GB Students, England, Scotland, and Wales in the match.

Team leader Martin Rush said: “With the European Junior Championships in a little over two months, the McCain Loughborough International forms an important performance stepping stone for athletes aiming for the Aviva GB and NI team.

“Coupled with next month’s Mannheim international – this fixture will give an early indication as to where athletes are in their preparations, and I wish them luck in what should be an exciting match on Sunday.”


100m: Andrew Robertson (Sale Harriers); 200m: Junior Ejehu (Woodford Green Essex Ladies); 400m: Jordan McGrath (Birchfield Harriers); 800m: Robbie Schofield (Newham & Essex Beagles); 1500m: Simon Horsfield (East Cheshire); 3000m: Dan Clorley (Luton); 3000mSC: James Wilkinson (Leeds City); 110mH: Lawrence Clarke (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow); 400mH: Niall Flannery (Gateshead);  4x100m: Eugene Ayanful (Woodford Green Essex Ladies), Junior Ejehu, Jordan Huggins (Enfield & Haringey); Andrew Robertson, Olafunmi Sobodu ( Blackheath & Bromley), Deji Tobais (Windsor Slough Eton and Hounslow); 4x400m: Chris Clarke (Marshall Milton Keynes), Niall Flannery (Gateshead Harriers), Jack Green (Kent),  Jordan McGrath, Seb Tully-Middleton (Birchfield Harriers), Nathan Wake (Herts Phoenix); High Jump: Scott Johnson (Bedford & County); Pole Vault: Andrew Sutcliffe (Sale Harriers); Long Jump: Dwyte Smith (Ashford); Triple Jump: Ben Williams (City of Stoke); Shot:  Curtis Griffith-Parker (Cambridge Harriers); Discus: Griffith-Parker; Javelin: Daniel Pembroke (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow); Hammer: Peter Smith (Kingston upon Hull)


100m: Emily Diamond (Sale Harriers); 200m: Ashlee Nelson (City of Stoke); 400m: Laura Maddox (Team Bath); 800m: Rowena Cole (Coventry); 1500m: Stacy Smith (Gateshead); 3000m: Katie Knowles (Bristol & West); 3000mSC: Nicola Hood (Victoria Park City of Glasgow); 110mH: Stephanie Gaynor (Herts Phoenix); 400mH: Lauren Bouchard (Chelmsford); 4x100m: Jennie Batten (Stroud), Emily Diamond, Torema Dorsett (Enfield & Haringey), Twinelle Hopeson (Croydon), Ashlee Nelson, Jodie Williams (Herts Phoenix); 4x400m: Lucy James (Bedford & County), Leigh Lennon (Newham & Essex), Laura Maddox, Shelayna Oskan (Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow); High Jump: Katarina Thompson; Pole Vault: Sally Scott (Gateshead); Long Jump: Abigail Irozuru (Sale Harriers); Triple Jump: Laura Samuel (Leicester); Shot:  Shaunagh Brown (Blackheath & Bromley); Discus: Shaunagh Brown; Javelin: Freya Jones (Team Southampton); Hammer: Sophie Hitchon (Blackburn).