27th November 2011

Aviva UKA Awards


27 November 2011

The Aviva UKA Awards Evening took place on Saturday night at the Park Plaza Westminster Hotel with a number of successful winners taking their place in the limelight.

Winners on the evening were:

Club of the Year – Sedgefield Harriers

Volunteer of the YearHenry Muchamore – Haddington East Lothian Pacemakers and East Lothian Athletics Development Group

Official of the Year – Matthew Witt – Cambridge and Coleridge Athletics Club Officials coordinator

Development Coach of the Year– John Blackie – Blackheath & Bromley Harriers Athletics Club

Partnership of the Year– Wrexham Amateur Athletics Club and Wrexham County Borough Council

The Elite Paralympic Coach of the Year – Anthony Hughes

The Elite Athletics Coach of the Year  – Malcolm Arnold

Aviva Series Performance of the Year Award – Mo Farah Aviva Grand Prix, NIA Birmingham – Saturday 19th February 2011

The Best Paralympic Performance of 2011 –  Hannah Cockcroft – Gold in the women’s T34 100m and 200m at the International Paralympics Committee (IPC) Athletics Champs

The Best Athletics Performance of 2011 –  Dai Greene – Gold in the 400m hurdles at the World Championships in Daegu, Korea

UKA Chair Ed Warner said: “Once again our thanks go to Aviva for hosting such a superb evening, and bringing together such a wonderful evening of celebration.

“2011 has seen athletics in the UK thrive on so many levels, and with the turn of the year and start of 2012 little more than a month away, it is quite simply the greatest time to be involved in our sport.

“Saturday evening was about celebration and looking forward to the exciting times ahead.”