10th September 2013

Brit Trio Nominated For Euro Awards

10 September 2013

British Athletics trio Mo Farah (coach: Alberto Salazar), Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan) and Adam Gemili (Michael Afilaka) have been shortlisted for the 2013 European Athlete of the Year and European Rising Star Awards.

The 2013 athletics season has been one to remember for Farah, Ohuruogu and Gemili and YOU can top it off for them by voting for your favourite.

Voting takes place exclusively on the European Athletics Facebook page www.facebook.com/EuropeanAthletics and is now open (you must ‘like’ the page in order to vote).

Farah, the 2013 10,000m and 5000m World champion is once again up for nomination in the men’s category – the 30-year-old won the award last year following his London 2012 feats.

Christine Ohuurogu’s thrilling gold medal win in the 400m in Moscow, where she ran a new British record of 49.41, has put the Londoner alongside 11 compatriots in the senior female vote. The 2008 Olympic champion will be looking to follow in Jessica Ennis’ 2012 winning footsteps.

Sprint sensation Gemili, will be aiming to go one step further at this year’s awards and win the European Rising Star Award. The 19-year-old finished runner-up in 2012, so will his 19.98 time in the 200m and 100m gold at the European Under-23 Championships seal the deal this year?

So get voting now to make it a British Athletics clean sweep. Voting closes at midnight on 27 September

The winners of the European Athlete of the Year and European Athletics Rising Star Award will be announced at the European Athletics Awards Night on Saturday 12 October in in Tallinn, Estonia.

The awards winners will be decided by votes from the general public, media, European Athletics Member Federations and an expert panel, with the results from each group of voters counting for one quarter of the athlete’s final score.

Click here to vote.