27th January 2009

Commonwealth Team Set For Glasgow

26 January 2009 

Three World Champions will be representing the Commonwealth Select Team to face the Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland, USA, Sweden, Germany at the Aviva International Match in Glasgow’s Kelvin Hall on January 31. 

Former World 100m Champion Kim Collins (St Kitts & Nevis), who is making his first appearance in Scotland and who came sixth in the 200m Olympic final in Beijing, will compete in the 60m and 200m.

He will be joined by the reigning World Indoor 400m Champion, Tyler Christopher (Canada) and Godfrey Mokoena (South Africa) the reigning World Indoor long jump Champion, who won a silver medal at last year’s Olympic Games.

There is also a place for fast improving 20 year old British pole vaulter, Luke Cutts (Dearneside AC), following a superb PB of 5.62m achieved in Sheffield two weeks ago, who will take on compatriot Steve Lewis (Newham and Essex) on Saturday, Lewis is currently lying joint 2nd on the IAAF indoor world ranking for 2009.

Jenny Meadows (Wigan and District AC) will be renewing her rivalry with fellow Olympic semi-finallist Marilyn Okoro (Shaftesbury Barnet) whom she beat twice on the indoor circuit last year as they battle it out for supremacy in the 800m.

The Glasgow match will begin in earnest the build up to March’s European Indoor Championships in Turin, Italy. The championships were last held in Birmingham in 2007, where GB & NI topped the medal with ten medals.

Remaining tickets for the Aviva International Match at the Kelvin Hall, Glasgow on Saturday 31st January are available by phone on 08000 556 056 or online at www.ukathletics.net 



60m: Kim Collins (St Kitts and Nevis); 200m: Collins; 400m: Tyler Christopher (Canada); 800m: Richard Kipligat (Kenya); 3000m: Gideon Githimba (Kenya); 60m hurdles: Shamar Sands (Bahamas); High Jump: Samson Oni (Belgrave Harriers); Pole Vault: Luke Cutts (Dearneside AC); Long Jump: Godfrey Mokoena (South Africa) 


60m: Chandra Sturrup (Bahamas); 200m: Virgil Hodge (St Kitts and Nevis); 400m: Carline Muir (Canada); 800m: Jenny Meadows (Wigan and District AC); 1500m: Katrina Wootton (Bedford and County AC); 3000m: Zakia Mrisho (Tanzania); 60m hurdles: Andrea Bliss (Jamaica); Long Jump: Jackie Edwards (Bahamas)