3rd March 2014

Eilidh Child Named Gb & Ni Captain For World Indoors

03 March 2014

British Athletics today named Eilidh Child (coach: Malcolm Arnold) as captain to the Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Sopot, Poland.

Child, who won 4x400m gold at last year’s European Indoor Championships, was selected by British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black and will lead the team at the championships held 7-9 March.

“I was really shocked when Neil (Black) phoned me. It was the last thing on my mind that I was going to be asked to be team captain. I’m really honoured, it was a complete surprise,” said Child.

“To me the role of captain is about being there to support one another. Hopefully I can add that extra little bit of support and try and keep everyone chilled out and relaxed.”

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said:

“I’m delighted Eilidh accepted the team captaincy role for these championships.

“At the recent Sainsbury’s Glasgow International Match, Eilidh demonstrated her leadership skills when she captained the Scottish team. She is well respected amongst her fellow team mates and I know she will lead by example.

“We’ve got a relatively young team in Sopot and experienced athletes like Eilidh will help integrate the number of new faces in the team.”

Meanwhile, Eilish McColgan has withdrawn from the GB & NI team. McColgan, who was selected to compete in the 3000m in Sopot, has not returned to full fitness following a recent minor illness.

“It’s really disappointing that I’m not going to compete at the World Indoor Championships,” she said.

“I was really looking forward to it but I don’t feel I would do my selection justice at this moment in time. I wish my team mates the very best of luck in Sopot.

“I’m excited for the summer season and aiming for a successful Commonwealth Games and European Championships.”




Dwain Chambers (Rana Reider), Richard Kilty (Reider)

Richard Buck (Nick Dakin), Nigel Levine (Linford Christie)

Mukhtar Mohammed (Jon Bigg), Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow)

Lee Emanuel (Joe Franklin), Chris O Hare (Steve Gulley)

Andy Vernon (Nick Bideau), Jonathan Mellor (Steve Vernon)

60m hurdles:
Andrew Pozzi (Malcolm Arnold), William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukewicz)

Daniel Awde (Chris Zah) Michael Bingham (George Williams), Jamie Bowie (Piotr Haczek), Buck, Luke Lennon-Ford (Christie), Levine, Conrad Williams (Christie)

High Jump:
Robbie Grabarz (Fayyaz Ahmed), Tom Parsons (Aston Moore)

Pole Vault:
Luke Cutts (Trevor Fox)



Sophie Papps (Dan Cossins), Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker)

Margaret Adeoye (Christie), Shana Cox (Williams)

Laura Muir (Andy Young)

Jemma Simpson (Mark Rowland)

Adeoye, Eilidh Child (Arnold), Cox, Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan), Victoria Ohuruogu (Cowan), Laura Wake (Dakin)

60m hurdles:
Tiffany Porter (Reider)

Pole Vault:
Holly Bleasdale (Scott Simpson)

Long Jump:
Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes), Shara Proctor (Reider)