2nd October 2009

European Athlete Of The Year


02 October 2009

Phillips Idowu has been voted the 2009 winner of the men’s European Athlete of the Year Award presented by MONDO.

The talented Brit proved his credentials outdoors throughout a fantastic year and got the better of Portuguese nemesis Nelson Évora to take the IAAF World Championships Triple Jump gold in Berlin in August with a world-leading leap and personal best of 17.73m.

Idowu will be presented with his European Athlete of the Year Award at the European Athletics Convention in Budapest on Saturday 17 October alongside the women’s European Athlete of the Year winner Marta Domínguez and the European Athletics Rising Star of the Year winners.

Fans, media and European Athletics Member Federations were invited to vote for the European Athlete of the Year on the European Athletics website. Along with the votes from a panel of experts, each group of voters’ results count for one quarter of the athlete’s final score.

The shortlist for the award was compiled by selecting the top European athlete in each event, based largely on performances at the IAAF World Championships in Berlin.

No athlete who has previously served a two-year doping ban can be nominated for European Athlete of the Year.

Men’s European Athlete of the Year presented by MONDO final rankings 1. Phillips Idowu (GBR) 2. Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR) 3. Yaroslav Rybakov (RUS) 4. Robert Harting (GER) 5. Primoz Kozmus (SLO) 6. Tomasz Majewski (POL) 7. Bouabdellah Tahri (FRA) 8. Sebastian Bayer (GER) 9. Ramil Guliyev (AZB) 10. Valeriy Borchin (RUS) 11. David Gillick (IRL) 12. Sergey Lebid (UKR) 13. Sergey Kirdyapkin (RUS) 14. Roman Mesnil (FRA) 15. Yuriy Borzakovskiy (RUS) 16. Mehdi Baala (FRA) 17. Mo Farah (GBR) 18. Aleksandr Pogorelov (RUS) 19. Periklis Iakovakis (GRE) 20. William Sharman (GBR)

European Athlete of the Year previous winners

1993 Linford Christie (GBR)

1994 Colin Jackson (GBR)

1995 Jonathan Edwards (GBR)

1996 Jan Zelezny (CZE)

1997 Wilson Kipketer (DEN)

1998 Jonathan Edwards (GBR)

1999 Tomás Dvorak (CZE)

2000 Jan Zelezny (CZE)

2001 André Bucher (SUI)

2002 Dwain Chambers (GBR)

2003 Christian Olsson (SWE)

2004 Christian Olsson (SWE)

2005 Virgilijus Alekna (LTU)

2006 Francis Obikwelu (POR)

2007 Tero Pitkämäki (FIN)

2008 Andreas Thorkildsen (NOR)

2009 season: Phillips Idowu 17.73m PB (1) 0.0 1 WC Berlin 18 Aug