19th June 2013

European Athletics Team Championships Nod For Kilty

19 June 2013

British Athletics has today confirmed further team changes for the European Athletics Team Championships in Gateshead on 22-23 June 2013.

James Dasaolu (coach: Steve Fudge) will not run the individual 100m and instead will focus on the 4x100m relay, he will be replaced in the 100m by Richard Kilty (Linford Christie) while Martyn Rooney (Rana Reider) has withdrawn from the 4x400m relay due to a hamstring tear.

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said:

“James Dasaolu has shown over the last few years that he is a great talent but it is important that he is able to maintain his fitness and ensure that everything is in place to be able to compete at his best at the key times.  With Moscow in mind it is better for him to focus his efforts only on the relay this weekend.

“Richard Kilty has been in great form this summer and fully deserves his selection to the 100m. I’m certain that Richard and the other athletes coming into the team will see it as an amazing opportunity to show what they can do in the British Athletics vest.”


GB & NI team for the European Athletics Team Championships:


100m: Richard Kilty (Christie); 200m: Danny Talbot (Daniel Cossins); 400m: Nigel Levine (Christie); 800m: Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow); 1500m: Charlie Grice (John Bigg); 3000m: David Bishop (James Thie); 5000m: Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar); 110mH: William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz); 400mH: Dai Greene (Malcolm Arnold); 3000mSC: Rob Mullett (David Leach); High Jump: Tom Parsons (Aston Moore); Long Jump: Greg Rutherford (Dan Pfaff); Triple Jump: Nathan Douglas (Aston Moore); Pole Vault: Andrew Sutcliffe (Julien Raffali-Ebezant); Shot Put: Zane Duquemin (John Hillier); Discus Throw: Brett Morse (Andy Brittan); Hammer Throw: Mark Dry (Tore Gustafsson); Javelin: Lee Doran (David Parker); 4 x 100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Reider), Dwain Chambers (Reider), James Dasaolu (Fudge), James Ellington (Rana Reider), Joel Fearon (Michael Khmel), Adam Gemili (Michael Afilaka), Kilty, Danny Talbot; 4 x 400m: Michael Bingham (George Williams), Richard Buck (Fudge), Nigel Levine, Conrad Williams (Christie)


100m: Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker); 200m: Anyika Onuora (Reider); 400m: Perri Shakes Drayton (Chris Zah); 800m: Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark); 1500m: Hannah England (Bud Baldaro); 3000m: Laura Weightman (Steve Cram); 5000m: Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods); 100mH: Tiffany Porter (Reider); 400mH: Eilidh Child (Arnold); 3000mSC: Lennie Waite (Woods); High Jump: Isobel Pooley (Fayyaz Ahmed); Long Jump: Shara Proctor (Reider); Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama (Frank Attoh); Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale (Simpson/Pfaff); Shot Put: Sophie McKinna (Geoff Capes); Discus Throw: Jade Lally (Andy Neal); Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon (Gustafsson); Javelin: Izzy Jeffs (Parker); 4 x 100m: Annabelle Lewis (Roger Walters), Anyika Onuora, Asha Philip, Tiffany Porter, Bianca Williams (Lloyd Cowan); 4 x 400m: Meghan Beesley (Nick Dakin), Eilidh Child, Shana Cox (George Williams), Kirsten McAslan (Trevor Painter), Christine Ohuruogu (Cowan), Victoria Ohuruogu (Cowan)