16th July 2013

Farah Aiming To Retain World 5000m Title As British Athletics Name World Championships Team

16 July 2013

British Athletics has today named a 60 strong team for the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, Russia 10-19 August.

Leading the charge for medals in Russia will be Double Olympic Champion Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar) in the 5000m and 10000m who receives an automatic place in the men’s 5000m as defending IAAF world champion. Farah will be attempting to become the first Briton to retain a world title whilst Olympic silver medallist and Sainsbury’s British Championships 400m winner Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan) will look to regain the title she won in 2007.

Ohuruogu’s sister Victoria is also named as a member of the 4x400m squad making them the first sisters to feature together in a world championship team. Olympic Heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis (Toni Minichiello) will be looking to claim back the gold she won in Berlin in 2009.

Other Championships winners from the weekend are also automatically selected under the IAAF rules: Olympic men’s high jump bronze medallist Robbie Grabarz (Fayyaz Ahmed) also receives an automatic place following his 2012 Diamond League victory, as does defending world 400m hurdles champion Dai Greene (Malcolm Arnold).

In the battle for places in the men’s 100m, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Rana Reider) and James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge) join Championship winner Dwain Chambers (Reider) on the flight to Moscow, and Adam Gemili (Michael Afilaka) lines up alongside James Ellington (Reider) over 200m

There are men’s GB & NI senior debuts for Delano Williams (Neil Harrison) in the 200m, Chris O Hare (Steve Gulley) 1500m, European U23 400m Hurdles medallist Sebastian Rodger (Stephen King), plus Deji Tobais (Jonas Tawiah Dodoo) and Jamie Bowie (Piotr Haczek) in the 4x100m and 4x400m relay squads.

In the men’s long jump, UKA Performance director Neil Black has opted to use Performance Director’s discretion to take a further period of time to decide on the athlete selection. This decision will be announced on the 30th July.

In the women’s team Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker) is rewarded for her stellar British championship win with an A standard with the sole 100m berth, whilst Anyika Onuora (Reider) one of only three women globally to hold A standards over 100m, 200m and 400m in 2013 is selected in the 200m and the 4x400m relay.

Currently in superb form, Championships winner Shara Proctor (Reider) is named in the long jump – Proctor marginally fouled a seven metre jump at the weekend, and will be aiming to make her first outdoor major championships podium.

In the women’s 800m, joining Sainsbury’s British Championships winner Marilyn Okoro (Johnny Gray) are youngsters Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark) and European Indoor Championships 1500m representative Laura Muir.

Judd, who had been named for the GB & NI team for the European Juniors in Rieti, Italy this week has withdrawn from the age group championships to concentrate on her preparations for Moscow.

Enjoying their debuts on the women’s side are Dina Asher Smith (John Blackie) in the women’s 4x100m squad who at 17 is the youngest member of the team, and long jumper Lorraine Ugen (Frank Attoh).

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said: “The team selected for GB & NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we seen as future medallists.

“Last weekend’s Sainsbury’s British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world class performances. It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

“A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017.”


100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey (Rana Reider); Dwain Chambers (Reider); James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge); 200m: James Ellington (Reider); Adam Gemili (Michael Afilaka); Delano Williams (Neil Harrison); 400m: Nigel Levine (Linford Christie); 800m: Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow) Michael Rimmer (Norman Poole); 1500m: Chris O’Hare (Steve Gulley); 5000m: Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar); 10,000m: Farah (Salazar); 110mH: William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz); 400mH: Dai Greene (Malcolm Arnold), Sebastian Rodger (Stephen King) Rhys Williams (Adrian Thomas); 3000mSC: James Wilkinson (Philip Townsend); Long Jump: TBA; High Jump: Robbie Grabarz (Fayyaz Ahmed); Pole Vault: Steve Lewis (Dan Pfaff); Discus Throw: Brett Morse (Andy Brittan); Decathlon: Ashley Bryant (Ian Grant); 4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey (Reider); Chambers (Reider); Dasaolu (Fudge); Ellington (Reider); Gemili (Afilaka); Richard Kilty (Christie) Andrew Robertson (Daniel Cossins); Deji Tobais (Jonas Tawiah Dodoo); 4x400m: Michael Bingham (George Williams); Jamie Bowie (Piotr Haczek) Luke Lennon Ford (Christie); Levine (Christie); Martyn Rooney (Reider); Conrad Williams (Christie); Delano Williams (Harrison)


100m: Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker); 200m: Anyika Onuora (Reider); Jodie Williams (Stanley Madiri); 400m: Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan); 800m: Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark); Laura Muir (Andy Young); Marilyn Okoro (Johnny Gray); 1500m: Hannah England (Bud Baldaro); Laura Weightman (Steve Cram); 100mH: Tiffany Porter (Reider); 400mH: Meghan Beesley (Nick Dakin); Eilidh Child (Arnold); Perri Shakes Drayton (Chris Zah); 3000mSC: Eilish McColgan (Liz McColgan); Long Jump: Shara Proctor (Reider); Lorraine Ugen (Frank Attoh); Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson); Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis (Toni Minichiello); Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes); Marathon (Selected in April) Sonia Samuels (Nick Samuels); Susan Partridge (Steve Jones) 4x100m: Philip (Bowmaker), Hayley Jones (Donald Moss), Annabelle Lewis (Roger Walters), Ashleigh Nelson (Afilaka), Bianca Williams (Cowan), Dina Asher Smith (John Blackie); Williams (Madiri);  4x400m: Margaret Adeoye (Christie), Child (Arnold); Shana Cox (George Williams), Kirsten McAslan (Trevor Painter), Kelly Massey (Stephen Ball), Christine Ohuruogu (Cowan), Victoria Ohuruogu (Cowan) Onuora (Reider); Shakes Drayton (Zah).