9th July 2013


9 July 2013

British Athletics has today announced a second wave of selections for the European Junior Championships taking place in Rieti, Italy, 18-21 July. Following the first wave of athletes selected on 17 June, a further 19 athletes have been added to the GB & NI team, taking the squad total to 58.

British Indoor 1500m junior record holder Matt McLaughlin (coach: Ayo Falola) headlines the additions, and his record breaking personal best of 3.42.87 should stand him in good stead out in Italy.

Further additions to the team include Chijindu Ujah (Jonas Tawaih-Dodoo), who proved his fitness by setting a season’s best last weekend with a 10.40 clocking, as well as Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley), who smashed his lifetime best (20.98) en route to winning the English Schools senior boy’s 200m title in Birmingham. Flying in from America for the championships is Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (Mark Elliot), who was part of Louisiana State University 4x100m team who finished fourth at the recent NCAA Championships. He will compete over 200m as well as making up part of the GB & NI 4 x 100m team.

Loren Bleaken (Adrian Clover) took the English Schools Championship 800m title on Saturday, whilst Alex Clay, part of the bronze medal winning IAAF World Cross Country Championship team, will compete over 5,000m.

Selected in the first wave, Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark) will be the strong favourite for the women’s 800m title off the back of her recent victories at the European Team Championships and Sainsbury’s Grand Prix – Birmingham, where she broke the two minute barrier for the first time.

Judd is joined in the team by fellow European ranking topping athletes Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie), Chris Kandu (John Herbert), Hayley McLean (Steve Mitchell) and Zak Seddon (Seddon). Strong medal chances will also come from World Junior silver medallists Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods) and Jazmin Sawyers (Alan Lerwill), as well as British junior shot put record holder Sophie McKinna (Geoff Capes).

On the final wave of selections, team leader Alan Richardson commented:

“The European Junior Championships play a vital part in an athlete’s development, giving crucial international experience to young athletes. We have selected a very strong team with many medal opportunities, but just as importantly it provides a learning opportunity for those athletes who will be a part of the senior GB & NI team in future years”.

Athletes selected in the GB & NI team for the European Junior Championships (additions underlined):


100m: Josh Cox (Alan Watts), Chijindu Ujah (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo), Roy Ejiakuekwu (Keith Hunter); 200m: Leon Reid (James Hillier), Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake (Mark Elliott), Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley); 400m: Ben Snaith (Mick Graham); 800m: Jordan Bransberg (Andrew Medley), Richard Charles (Noel Stoddart), Elliot Slade (Arwyn Davies); 1500m: Shaun Wyllie (Jeff Seddon), Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman), Matt McLaughlin (Ayo Falola); 5,000m: Jonathan Davies (Rob McKim), Michael Callegari (Nadeem Shaikh); 110mH: David King (James Hillier), David Omoregie (Mike Guest), Khai Riley-Laborde (Ray Gibbins); 400mH: Jacob Paul (Marina Armstrong); 3000mS/C: Zak Seddon (Seddon); 20k Walk: Jamie Higgins (Andi Drake); 4x100m relay: Cox, Reid, Ujah, Ejiakuekwu, Mitchell-Blake, Ben Shields (Peter Moore); 4x400m relay: Snaith, Hudson-Smith, Alex Boyce (Robert Roberts), Elliot Rutter (Dan Cossins ), George Caddick (Dominic Tighe), Scott Atkinson (Christopher Bedford); High jump: Chris Kandu (John Herbert); Pole Vault: Dan Gardner (Alan Richardson), Rowan May (Peter Hill); Long jump: Feron Sayers (Femi Akinsanya), Elliot Safo (John Shepherd); Triple Jump: Efe Uwaifo (Tom McNab); Discus: Nick Percy (John Hillier) Gregory Thompson (Neville Thompson); Hammer: Michael Painter (John Painter), Callum Brown (Lorraine Brown); Javelin: Benji Pearson (David Parker).


100m: Sophie Papps (Neil Dodson); 200m: Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie), Desiree Henry (Stanley Madiri); 800m: Jessica Judd (Rob Denmark), Loren Bleaken (Adrian Clover); 3,000m: Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods); 5,000m: Gorecka, Rebecca Weston (Peter Mullervy), Alex Clay (Mullervy); 100mH: Yasmin Miller (Jared Deacon); 400mH: Hayley McLean (Steve Mitchell), Shona Richards (Marina Armstrong), Jessica Turner (Julie Feeney); 3000mS/C: Katie Ingle (Margaret Riley), Amy-Eloise Neale (Frank Dauncey); 4 x 100m Relay: Asher-Smith, Papps, Henry, Miller, Steffi Wilson (Graeme Gourlay), Clieo Stephenson (Michael Utting); Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan (Charles Preston); Long jump: Jazmin Sawyers (Alan Lerwill); Shot: Sophie McKinna (Geoff Capes); Discus: Shadine Duquemin (John Hillier); Hammer: Louisa James (Ron James).