18th June 2014


18 June 2014

British Athletics today named Hannah England (coach: Bud Baldaro) as captain to the Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the European Athletics Team Championships in Braunschweig, Germany.

England, the 2011 1500m World Championships silver medallist, was selected by British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black and will lead the team at the Eintracht Stadium on 21-22 June.

“It’s amazing to be captain and it’s not something I had on my to do list, but when Neil asked me, it was a real honour,” said England.

“Even my mum who’s not particularly into athletics was really proud and it’s a really standalone thing to captain my country.

"I’m quite nervous about giving a speech, but I take inspiration from some of the ones I’ve been a part of. It takes a lot to stand up in front of peers like that and it’s quite a personal thing.”

British Athletics Performance Director Neil Black said:

“Hannah was the stand out name when I was selecting a captain for these championships and I knew she would be excited to take the captaincy.

“Hannah is a proven championship performer and the team will respond well to her captaincy. She has many great attributes that make a good captain and I know she is looking forward to the role.”

Meanwhile, Asha Philip (Christine Bowmaker) and Sophie Papps (Dan Cossins) have withdrawn from the women’s 100m, 200m and 4x100m.

Anyika Onuora (Rana Reider) and Rachel Johncock (Leon Baptiste) have been selected in the vacant positions. Andrew Robertson (Cossins) and Seren Bundy-Davies (Stephen Ball) have been added to the men’s 4x100m and women’s 4x400m.


GB & NI team for the European Athletics Team Championships:


100m: Daniel Talbot (Dan Cossins)
200m: James Ellington (Rana Reider)
400m: Daniel Awde (Chris Zah)
800m: Mukhtar Mohammed (Jon Bigg)
1500m: Charlie Grice (Bigg)
3000m: Jonathan Mellor (Steve Vernon)
5000m: Luke Caldwell (Robert Russell)
110mH: William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz)
400mH: Rick Yates (Stephen Ball)
3000mSC: Luke Gunn (Bud Baldaro)
High Jump: Chris Baker (Sharon Heveran)
Long Jump: Greg Rutherford (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo)
Triple Jump: Phillips Idowu (Gary Bourne)
Pole Vault: Steve Lewis (Dan Pfaff)
Shot Put: Zane Duquemin (John Hillier)
Discus Throw: Brett Morse
Hammer Throw: Nick Miller (John Baumann)
Javelin: Lee Doran (Chris Watts)
4 x 100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Reider), Ellington, Adam Gemili (Steve Fudge), Richard Kilty (Reider), Andrew Robertson (Cossins), Talbot
4 x 400m: Awde, Jarryd Dunn (Keith Holt), Rory Evans, Andrew Steele (Zah), Rabah Yousif (Carol Williams)



100m: Rachel Johncock (Leon Baptiste)
200m: Anyika Onuora (Reider)
400m: Shana Cox (George Williams)
800m: Jenny Meadows (Trevor Painter)
1500m: Hannah England (Baldaro)
3000m: Kate Avery (Tony Simmons)
5000m: Julia Bleasdale
100mH: Serita Solomon (Michelle Bovell)
400mH: Eilidh Child (Malcolm Arnold)
3000mSC: Lennie Waite (Jim Bevan)
High Jump: Isobel Pooley (Fuzz Ahmed)
Long Jump: Jazmin Sawyers (Alan Lerwill)
Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama (Frank Attoh)
Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan (Charles Preston)
Shot Put: Rachel Wallader (Geoff Capes)
Discus Throw: Jade Lally (Andy Neal)
Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson)
Javelin: Isabelle Jeffs (Dave Parker)
4 x 100m: Louise Bloor (Toni Minichiello), Johncock, Onuora, Bianca Williams (Lloyd Cowan), Jodie Williams (Bowmaker)
4 x 400m: Seren Bundy-Davies (Ball), Child, Cox, Emily Diamond (Cossins), Laura Wake (Nick Dakin), J Williams