5th February 2016

Karlsruhe Preview

5 February 2016

Dina Asher-Smith (coach: John Blackie) takes on a strong field over 60m at the first leg of the IAAF World Indoor Tour in Karlsruhe, Germany this weekend. She joins a number of British athletes competing in the inaugural series on Saturday 6 February.

Asher-Smith, the joint British women’s 60m record holder will take on world 200m and European Indoor 60m champion Dafne Schippers (NED) over the distance in a hotly-contested race. The 20 year-old posted times of 7.20 and 7.22 at the London Games last Sunday and will be looking to build on those performances. Fellow Briton Daryll Neita (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo) will also go in the women’s 60m.

Tiffany Porter (Rana Reider) and Lucy Hatton (Jerzy Maciukiewicz) compete in the 60m hurdles which include home favourite and world medallist Cindy Roleder (GER). Porter, who won the European 100m hurdles title in Zurich two years ago, will make her first appearance of the season whilst Hatton is aiming to improve upon her 8.23 season opener in Dusseldorf on Wednesday.

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Benke Blomkvist) returns to the indoor track over 60m after injury spoilt his 2015 campaign. He will face current joint world leader, 39 year-old Kim Collins (SKN) who recorded a time of 6.53 earlier this week.

After earning a trio of British team caps last year, Dan Bramble (Frank Attoh) will be looking to replicate his 2015 form and goes in the long jump. Michael Rimmer (Jon Bigg), who turned 30 earlier this week, runs in the 800m whilst Hannah England (Bud Baldaro) starts in the women’s 1500m.

The IAAF World Indoor Tour includes a points system and prize money, and consists of four events, beginning in the German city before heading to Boston and Stockholm and then culminating at the Glasgow Indoor Grand Prix at the Emirates Arena on Saturday 20 February.

Full start lists can be found here: http://www.meeting-karlsruhe.de/index.php?article_id=24

The Karlsruhe Indoor Meeting will be televised on Eurosport 1 between 19:15 and 20:30 on Saturday 6 February.