13th December 2013


13 December 2013  

World champions Christine Ohuruogu (coach: Lloyd Cowan), Aled Davies (Anthony Hughes) and Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) all picked up top honours at yesterday’s Sports Journalists Association Awards.

Ohuruogu, who produced one of the most memorable moments in 2013 winning 400m gold by just four thousandths of a second in Moscow collected the SJA Sportswoman of the Year award.  The 29 year old became the first British woman to win two gold medals at the IAAF World Championships and in the process set a new personal best of 49.41 – breaking Kathy Cook’s 29 year old British record in the process.  

The 2008 Olympic champion was also presented with the Pat Besford Trophy for the year’s Outstanding Performance to go alongside the British Athletics Female Athlete of the Year, Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year and BAWA Female Athlete of the Year awards she’s already won in 2013.

Davies picked up the SJA Paralympic Sportsman of the Year award after winning double gold at the IPC World Championships in Lyon. The Welshman, who won gold and bronze at London 2012, went even better in France as he claimed the F42 discus and shot put crown. Davies will now be looking ahead to more success next year’s IPC European Championships in Swansea.

After retaining her double world title in the T34 100m and 200m, Cockroft won the SJA Paralympic Sportswoman of the Year title. The 21 year old remains unbeaten in her professional career following two gold medals at London 2012 and will be aiming for another accolade on Sunday after being shortlisted alongside Ohuruogu for the Sports Personality of the Year.