26th January 2015

Reigning Champion Lightfoot To Lead Gb & Ni Team In France

26 January 2015

Ricky Lightfoot will head the team in Annecy, France for the IAU World Trail Championships on Saturday 30 May as he seeks to retain the title he won in Wales in 2013. The 29 year-old will lead a 12-strong Great Britain and Northern Ireland team which will be hoping to continue the recent success of British Ultra-running teams on the international stage.

Lightfoot recorded a time of 5:36.03 in Llanwrst two years ago over the 77km distance and he will once again be seeking success at these championships. He will be joined by Paul Giblin who was the highest placed Briton at the IAU World 100km Championships in Doha last November. Giblin was 11th on that occasion and will be hoping to be a significant challenger in the field.

Also joining the strong senior men’s team will be 2014 Lakeland 50 winner Kim Collison; 2011 Commonwealth Ultra-trail running Championships 12th place finisher Paul Raistrick; Tom Owens and Lee Kemp who will be endeavouring to place highly in the field and guide the team to a podium placing.

The women’s team should be equally competitive with GB & NI internationals included in the squad flying out to France. Jo Meek was a fourth place finisher at the IAU World 100km Championships in Qatar last year behind two of her British team mates. The Winchester athlete was part of the GB & NI gold medal winning team in Doha so will be targeting a similar individual and team result in Annecy.

She will be joined by 2013 World Mountain Running Championships GB & NI athlete Holly Rush. The Team Bath athlete was 12th on that occasion and will be aiming for a good performance over the trails in Southern France this year. Sarah Fawcett, Lizzie Wraith, Sarah Morwood and Bonnie Van Wilgenburg add plenty of experience to the women’s team who will be challenging for a podium spot in a few months’ time.

The full Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the IAU World Trail Championships in Annecy, France:

Senior Men:

Ricky Lightfoot
Paul Giblin
Kim Collison
Tom Owens
Lee Kemp
Paul Raistrick

Senior Women:

Jo Meek
Holly Rush
Sally Fawcett
Lizzie Wraith
Sarah Morwood
Bonnie Van Wilgenburg