29th January 2024


The election process for seven members to join the UK Athletics Athletes’ Commission is now open, and self-nominations are welcomed prior to the deadline on Friday 9 February 2024.

For seven members their term has come to an end, although some of these individuals are eligible to continue their work by standing again, however, there is also an exciting opportunity for new members to bring new ideas to the forum and continue the work that the Commission has carried out so far.

The current Commission members ending their current terms are Adam Gemili, Ashley Bryant, Nathan Douglas, Maria Lyle, Steph Twell, and Vanessa Wallace. The current Chair of the Commission, Andrew Heyes, has decided to step down to coincide with the members finishing their terms. A new Chair will be elected from the 2024-2026 Athletes’ Commission members.

To be eligible for nomination, applicants must be a current or former athlete having competed for Great Britain and Northern Ireland (as part of a British Athletics team) in the last six years [from January 2018 onwards]. The Commission is committed to diversity and inclusion to reflect the sport, so there are requirements of composition for those members elected which are laid out in the Terms of Reference HERE.

Since its formation in 2017, the 12 members and four ex-officio members abide by the principle of striving to promote a positive and productive relationship between the athletes the Commission represent, and the National Governing Body.

The current Chair of the Athletes’ Commission, Andrew Heyes, commented: “The Athletes’ Commission welcome all interest and nominations from the diverse areas of the current athletics landscape. Be it Olympic, Paralympic and World Class Performance athletes to those that represent off-track disciplines such as mountain and ultra. All members are expected to be engaged, innovative and driven to work collaboratively within the Commission, with UKA, and with the wider sport.

“It has been a huge privilege to represent athletes as Chair of the Athletes’ Commission. I’ve had a fantastic opportunity to work with the governing body to communicate the athlete perspective and try to create genuine positive change in our sport for the athletes. I’ve decided to step down as Chair of the Athletes’ Commission this year, and I’m keen for the role to pass to a new Chair who has the enthusiasm and drive to continue the work of the Commission from its formation in 2017.”

Full Terms of Reference for Commission membership can be found HERE.

Invitations to self-nominate will be circulated to athletes that have competed for GB & NI from January 2018 onward via the UKAAC email address. If you are a GB & NI international from the past six years and haven’t received an email from the UKAAC email address, please get in touch with us at athletescommission@britishathletics.org.uk

Self-nominations are open until Friday 9 February 2024 at 12:00.

The elections will open on Wednesday 14 February and close on Wednesday 21 February with the announcement about the induction of new members following in late February.

If you have any questions or would like further information, please email athletescommission@britishathletics.org.uk