16th April 2013


16th April 2013


– The National Lottery announced as the Event Partner for Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games


  The partnership with British Athletics through to 2017 and beyond set to celebrate National Lottery’s support for Great Britain’s athletes


  National Lottery-supported British athletes confirmed for Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games


British Athletics today announced that The National Lottery will be the Event Partner for the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games in July, to celebrate and showcase their investment in and support of British athletes at London 2012 on the anniversary of the Games.


The Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games will be held at The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park on 26-28 July and will see some of the world’s best athletes in action as Olympic and Paralympic champions compete in the two-day IAAF Diamond League and a one-day IPC International Challenge.


The National Lottery’s support of the UK Sport World Class Performance Programme for more than 15 years has been an integral part of the success of British athletics, giving athletes access to the best coaches, facilities and support services in the world as they prepare for major championships.


As well as British Athletics benefiting from a record level of National Lottery funding delivered through UK Sport, both parties will work in partnership to ensure that British athletes maximise the support of the lottery-playing public in Rio 2016 and London 2017.


To celebrate The National Lottery’s partnership with British Athletics, the British line-up was also announced today for the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games, which will see memorable moments like “Super Saturday” and “Thriller Thursday” from London 2012 relived a year on from the Opening Ceremony.


All five British Olympic and 14 of the 16 Paralympic medallists have, so far, been confirmed to compete this summer at the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games.


In the IAAF Diamond League, Jessica Ennis will double up in both the 100m hurdles and long jump, before being joined in Saturday afternoon’s event programme by double Olympic champion Mo Farah, who will run in the 3,000m, and Olympic long jump champion Greg Rutherford.


On Sunday, Paralympic heroes Jonnie Peacock, Richard Whitehead, Mickey Bushell and Josie Pearson will take on some of the best athletes in the world in a one-day IPC International Challenge, fresh from competing at the IPC World Championships in Lyon.


Olympic Heptathlon champion, Jessica Ennis said:

“I am really looking forward to competing in the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games – I have amazing memories of competing in the Olympic Stadium last year and it will be good to step out on that track again in front of a British crowd.  I will never forget the noise the crowd made when I competed last August and know that the draw of the stadium and the great line up of athletes will fill the stands and make it another incredible occasion.


“I am training hard and am getting excited about the prospect of getting out there and competing again this summer.”


Paralympic T44 100m champion, Jonnie Peacock said:

“It’s going to be a fantastic day and it’s great that The National Lottery are going to be part of it given their support for so many athletes like me. I’m really excited, as it’s great to race in front of the British public and make them happy. There’s a huge positive energy in the Stadium and it’s a bonus that it’s a super quick track. It holds great memories for me and it will be great to go back there nearly a year on and see what I’ve got to offer.”


Camelot Managing Director Andy Duncan said:

“We’re delighted to be partnering with British Athletics for this event that celebrates the anniversary of the Games and to be able to recognise the unique role that National Lottery players had in supporting London 2012, where nine out of 10 of Great Britain’s medallists benefited from lottery support. With British Athletics set to receive a record level of National Lottery funding through to 2017, as part of a £37m UK Sport funding package, we look forward to an exciting ongoing collaboration on the road to Rio and the World Championships in London in 2017.”


UK Athletics Chair, Ed Warner said:

“We are excited that The National Lottery will be partnering with us on the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games and it is entirely appropriate that the event will offer an opportunity to recognise the unique role of lottery players in delivering an incredible summer of sport last year. Beyond that, athletics has never been so well supported as it is now through the lottery-buying public and we look forward to ensuring that investment is recognised over the coming years, through our long term partnership.


“As Event Partner to the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games and ongoing supporter to British Athletics over the next four years, once again they are benefiting our World Class Performance Programme athletes and, by helping support major events in the UK, they are going that extra mile to ensure our athletes have the best possible preparations for major Championships.”


British Athletes confirmed as competing at the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games are:


IAAF Diamond League



800m:               Andrew Osagie, Mukhtar Mohammed

3000m:             Mo Farah, Chris Thompson

110m Hurdles:   Lawrence Clarke, Andy Turner

400m Hurdles:   Dai Greene

Long jump:        Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson

High jump:        Robbie Grabarz

Pole vault:         Steve Lewis



400m:                Christine Ohuruogu

800m:                Jenny Meadows

100m hurdles:     Jessica Ennis

400m hurdles:     Perri Shakes-Drayton

Long jump:          Shara Proctor

                          Katrina Johnson-Thompson

                          Jessica Ennis

Pole vault:           Holly Bleasdale


IPC International Challenge

Individual athlete events are still to be confirmed. London 2012 medals highlighted in brackets.



Mickey Bushell (T53 100m gold medallist)

Dan Greaves (F44 discus silver medallist)

Ben Rushgrove (T36 200m bronze medallist)

Paul Blake (T36 400m silver & 800m bronze medallist)

Ola Abidogun (T46 100m bronze medallist)

Richard Whitehead (T42 200m gold medallist)

Jonnie Peacock (T44 100m gold medallist)

David Devine (T12 800m & 1500m bronze medallist)

Graeme Ballard (T36 100m silver medallist)



Josie Pearson (F51 discus gold medallist)

Katrina Hart (T35-38 relay bronze medallist)

Stef Reid (F44 long jump silver medallist)

Jenny McLoughlin (T35-38 relay bronze medallist)

Gemma Prescott (F32 club throw bronze medallist)