1st August 2017

Three Additional Members Added To Complete Population Of Inaugural Uka Athletes' Commission

UK Athletics (UKA) is delighted to announce the election of three additional members to the inaugural “Athletes’ Commission”, which, in addition to the previously elected nine members following the first wave of self-nominations, sees the Commission populated to its maximum number of 12 following the conclusion of all nomination processes.

Formed with the purpose of ensuring athletes voices are heard by UK Athletics’ Performance Oversight Committee and the UKA Board, the first step of significance in populating the Commission was to invite nominations from athletes who have competed for British Athletics in the last six years, with this a key point of importance in being eligible to be elected.

Following the initial election of nine members onto the Commission, a further attempt to adhere to the minimum representation percentages – at least 33% of members to be: male and female; from able-bodied and Paralympic events; current international athletes (have competed for GBR in the last 12 months); at least 15% of members to be from non-Olympic or Paralympic events and ensuring that the make-up is representative of the British Athletics team in terms of BAME and that there is no more than two athletes from any one event – was made by way of an extension to the self-nomination deadline. Four of these six minimum criteria have been met and in the coming months Commission members will look to identify routes by which all the criteria can be fulfilled in the future.

Following the conclusion of the ‘invitation to submit nominations’ process (a date which was extended to Wednesday 26 July), the three members elected to join the initial nine members on the inaugural Commission are: Tom Bosworth (20km Race Walk), Robert Britton (Ultra Distance Runner) and Vanessa Wallace (F34 Shot Put).

The nine members previously elected were: Abdul Buhari (Discus), Jamie Bowie (400m), Hannah England (1500m), Dai Greene (400m Hurdles), Stephen Miller (Club Throw), John Pares (Ultra Distance Runner), Isobel Pooley (High Jump), Goldie Sayers (Javelin), and Richard Yates (400m Hurdles).

Each member will be invited to stand for an initial two year term of office, while, now populated to its maximum number of 12, the Commission will vote among themselves to choose who is to become the Chair. The Commission Chair will serve for an initial term of four years and become a member of the UK Members Council as a representative of GB & NI international athletes.

UK Athletics President, Jason Gardener said:

“I’d like to congratulate Tom, Robert and Vanessa on their successful appointments to the Commission following the conclusion of all nominations.

“In addition to the nine members elected back in June, I am sure that Tom, Robert and Vanessa, each of whom have come from different backgrounds and found diverse routes into athletics, will have their own inputs in mind as we strive to continue developing those all-important relationships with current and former international British athletes.

“I have said previously that the Commission is something that we will all benefit from having in place, and, now fully populated, the UKA Board and UKA Performance Oversight Committee will look to begin the development of strong relationships with its 12 members; the opinions, ideas and thoughts of whom we look forward to listening to as we strive to continue delivering excellence.”

The Terms of Reference for the Athletes’ Commission can be found here