24th January 2012

Ultra Accolade


24 January 2012

Lizzy Hawker (GBR) and Italian ultra runner Giorgio Calcaterra have been annoucned as IAU Athletes of the Year for 2011.

Both have had oustanding years. Calcaterra won the 100km World and European Championships in a time of 6:27:32. Hawker won the 24 Hour Commonwealth Championships in a World´s Best Performance of 247.06km.

The Top 3 Men (in the percentage of votes received):

Giorgio Calcaterra (ITA) 43.4%
Ivan Cudin (ITA) 14.35
Erik Clavery (FRA) 11.8%

The Top 3 Women (in the percenetage of votes received):

Lizzy Hawker (GBR) 30.2% 
Marina Bychkova (RUS) 17.1%
Mami Kudo (JPN) 16%